Poll results: Saara Aalto should win the first heat of UMK 2016

Six acts will perform in the first heat of Finland’s Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK) 2016, but only three can advance to the final. On January 18 we asked our readers to vote for their favourites. After counting a total of 1,224 votes, we can now reveal that their favourite is Saara Aalto with her song “No Fear”.

Miss Aalto, who we recently spoke with on Skype, led the way with 479 votes — or nearly 40% of all those cast. She’s melding dance-pop with Indian sounds and you guys are clearly ready to throw down whenever you hear it!

Disco queen Eini came second with her number “Draamaa”, earning 216 votes, or around 18%. All those extra aaaas seem to be appropriate, as our readers praised the high-drama of her music video, which sees her in the woods with a broken-down car and some very muscular men. Fun at any age!

Our readers’ final qualifier is Stella Christine, who placed third with 196 votes, or around 16%. Her song “Ain’t Got Time For Boys” melds jazz, soul and R&B and has y’all feeling slinky and sexy.

Our readers have passed on Clemso, a Nigerian-born singer serving afro-beat realness; Mikko Herranen, who knows how to dish out cheese; and Pää-Äijät, a raucous duo who want to tell you about their “Champagne Heaven”.

Do you agree with the results? Who are your favourites to qualify? And do you think actually will?

UMK 2016: First heat (Poll results)


Read more Finland Eurovision news