Eurovision 2016: Reviews and rankings by the Wiwi Jury

Forty-three acts will compete at the Eurovision Song Contest 2016 in Stockholm, but there can only be one winner. To help you make an informed decision about where to cast your vote, the Wiwi Jury—our in-house panel of music un-professionals—has previewed and reviewed each of this year’s acts. It’s hard work being honest, but somebody has to do it.

Our jury consists of 40 jurors who hail from Australia, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Morocco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Spain, Sweden, the US and the UK. We are truly international, y’all!

Each juror assesses each song independently, and then awards each song a score from 0 to 10. The highest and lowest scores are then dropped to determine the Wiwi Jury average.

Eurovision 2016 reviews and rankings

You can read the completed reviews by clicking on the country name. The artist name will take you to an interview or further coverage, while the song title will take you to the lyrics.

  1. Russia: Sergey Lazarev with “You Are the Only One” (8.7)
  2. France: Amir with “J’ai cherché” (8.59)
  3. Bulgaria: Poli Genova with “If Love Was a Crime” (8.51)
  4. Iceland: Greta Salóme with “Hear Them Calling” (8.37)
  5. Croatia: Nina Kraljic with “Lighthouse” (8.12)
  6. Australia: Dami Im with “Sound of Silence” (7.92)
  7. Ukraine: Jamala with “1944” (7.88)
  8. Spain: Barei with “Say Yay!” (7.83)
  9. Malta: Ira Losco with “Walk on Water” (7.8)
  10. Cyprus: Minus One with “Alter Ego” (7.51)
  11. Italy: Francesca Michielin with “No Degree of Separation” (7.47)
  12. Azerbaijan: Samra with “Miracle” (7.46)
  13. Latvia: Justs with “Heartbeat” (7.42)
  14. Estonia: Jüri Pootsmann with “Play” (7.29) *
  15. Armenia: Iveta Mukuchyan with “LoveWave” (7.29) *
  16. Norway: Agnete with “Icebreaker” (7.09)
  17. Hungary: Freddie with “Pioneer” (7.05)
  18. Germany: Jamie-Lee Kriewitz with “Ghost” (6.96)
  19. Czech Republic: Gabriela Guncikova with “I Stand” (6.91)
  20. Austria: Zoë with “Loin d’ici” (6.76)
  21. Lithuania: Donny Montell with “I’ve Been Waiting For This Night” (6.7)
  22. Serbia: ZAA Sanja Vucic with “Goodbye (Shelter)” (6.59)
  23. Netherlands: Douwe Bob with “Slow Down” (6.57)
  24. Sweden: Frans with “If I Were Sorry” (6.29)
  25. Bosnia & Herzegovina: Dalal & Deen with “Ljubav je” (6.11)
  26. Israel: Hovi Star with “Made of Stars” (6.09)
  27. Ireland: Nicky Byrne with “Sunlight” (6.01)
  28. United Kingdom: Joe & Jake with “You’re Not Alone” (5.88)
  29. FYR Macedonia: Kaliopi with “Dona” (5.75)
  30. Switzerland: Rykka with “The Last of Our Kind” (5.68)
  31. Denmark: Lighthouse X with “Soldiers of Love” (5.61)
  32. Finland: Sandhja with “Sing It Away” (5.51)
  33. Belgium: Laura with “What’s the Pressure” (5.09)
  34. Moldova: Lidia Isac with “Falling Stars” (5.01)
  35. Poland: Michal Szpak with “Colour of Your Life” (4.86)
  36. Slovenia: ManuElla with “Blue and Red” (4.53)
  37. Romania: Ovidiu Anton with “Moment of Silence” (4.41)
  38. Greece: Argo with “Utopian Land” (4.34)
  39. Belarus: Ivan with “Help You Fly” (4.32)
  40. Albania: Eneda Tarifa with “Fairytale” (3.58)
  41. Georgia: Nika Kocharov & Young Georgian Lolitaz with “Midnight Gold” (3.33)
  42. San Marino: Serhat with “I Didn’t Know” (3.14)
  43. Montenegro: Highway with “Real Thing” (2.2)

* Ties are broken by preferential vote.

Related links