Sweden: Eurovision 2016 and Måns Zelmerlöw nominated for Kristallen television awards

The nominees for Kristallen — Sweden’s prestigious annual television awards — have been announced and Eurovision 2016 is well represented. The show itself is nominated for Entertainment Programme of the Year, while the show’s co-host Måns Zelmerlöw has a nomination for Male Presenter of the Year. But there’s no sign of the other Eurovision host, Petra Mede. What’s going on?

As it happens, SVT’s nomination for Female Presenter went to Gina Dirawi, who did an amazing job hosting both Melodifestivalen 2016 and the Studio Eurovision pre-show. Anyone who can handle the realness of William and Deban on live television is more than worthy of a Kristallen nomination!

Loved hanging with @ginadirawi on the #studioesc stage. #eurovision #eurovision2016 #cometogether

A photo posted by wiwibloggs (@wiwibloggs) on

Sadly, there was only space for one nomination from broadcaster SVT in the Presenter categories, which means that Petra Mede missed out. The nominee was selected by an online vote from SVT’s audience.

And it looks like a case of history repeating. In 2013, Petra also missed out on a nomination for her impressive single-handed presentation of Eurovision 2013, with the SVT’s nomination and the eventual Kristallen win going to Gina.

But, perhaps to make it up to Petra, she returned to Kristallen 2014 as the host. Petra again demonstrated why she is one of Sweden’s most accomplished and best loved presenters and comediennes.

Måns Zelmerlöw was last nominated for a Kristallen in 2012, for his work hosting the popular singalong show Allsång på Skansen. With his entertaining and acclaimed work hosting Eurovision 2016 (not to mention his artistic shirt ripping), Måns is looking to be a hot favourite for the win.

Kristallen awards will be presented at a gala evening on 4 September.