60-song shortlist revealed for Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2017

Malta put on a glamorous show just a few weeks ago as it hosted the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016. But now Maltese broadcaster PBS is well and truly focused on its adult stars. Tonight it has published a shortlist of the 60 songs that have made it to the next round of the Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2017. They were culled from 156 submissions.

The list includes plenty of returnees  — Jessika has three songs in the running, while 2016 MESC star Deborah C has submitted a duet. RaquelaStefan Galea, and Janice Mangion are giving it another go. And several acts who featured in on our recent wishlist, including Maxine Pace, Brooke Borg, Jasmine Abela, Lyndsay Pace and Claudia Fanniello, will also grace the stage! This is gonna be intense…

Each of those acts — and many more — performed at the recent Wiwi Jam at the Hard Rock Café in Stockholm. You can hear them flexing their vocal muscles in our playlist below.

Malta Eurovision Song Contest 2017: 60 shortlisted songs

  • Aidan Cassar – “You”
  • Ana Boynuegri – “Feel”
  • Avenue Sky – “We Can Run”
  • Brooke Borg – “Unstoppable”
  • Cherton Caruana – “Fighting To Survive”
  • Cherylis – “Breathe”
  • Christian Arding – “Chill Out”
  • Claudia Faniello – “Breathlessly”
  • Clive Issac Gauci & Karine Caruana – “Rescue Me”
  • Clive Issac Gauci & Karine Caruana – “When Love Cries”
  • Corinna Baldacchino – “Leap of Faith”
  • Crosswalk – “So Simple”
  • Dario Bezzina – “Prisoner”
  • Dario Mifsud Bonnici – “Pawn In A Game”
  • Deborah C & Josef Tabone – “Tonight”
  • Derrick Schembri – “U”
  • Domenique Azzopardi – “Hey Yo”
  • Dominic – “Don’t Let Your Heart Say No”
  • Dre’ Curmi – “The Rapture”
  • Floren Sultana – “Unforgettable”
  • Franklin Calleja – “Follow Me”
  • Gabriella Azzopardi – “Heal With Me”
  • Iona – “Fireworks”
  • Jade Vella – “Seconds Away”
  • Janice Mangion – “Kewkba”
  • Jasmine Abela – “Supernovas”
  • Jessica Magro – “Different Light”
  • Jessika – “Edge of Tomorrow”
  • Jessika – “Immortal”
  • Jessika – “Let There Be Light”
  • Joseph Refalo – “I Got You”
  • Joseph Tabone – “When The Sun Shines”
  • Kaya – “The Power”
  • Kayla Borg – “Falling”
  • Kevin Borg – “Follow”
  • Klinsmann Coleiro – “Laserlight”
  • Kylie Colerio – “Breathe”
  • Lydon Incorvaja – “Sunshine in the Rain”
  • Lyndsay Pace – “Butterfly”
  • Lyndsay Pace – “Gemini”
  • Maria Cini – “Chasing My Dreams”
  • Maria Muscat – “Unbreakable”
  • Maxine Pace – “Bombshell”
  • Milkmi – “Shelter”
  • Michela Pace – “Cruise Control”
  • Miriana Conte – “Don’t Look Down”
  • Nadia Vella – “Bird of Prey”
  • Nazio Rotin – “Free Fall”
  • Nazio Rotin – “Gone”
  • Raquela Dalli Gonzi – “Ray of Light”
  • Raquel Galdes – “Beautifully Bruised”
  • Rhiannon Micallef – “Fearless”
  • Rhiannon Micallef – “Moving Mountains”
  • Richard Edwards – “You”
  • Romina Mamo – Child of the Sun”
  • Sebastian Calleja – “Escape”
  • Shauna Vassallo – “Crazy Games”
  • Stefan Galea – “Wait Forever”
  • Tiziana – “Only Night”
  • Wayne William – “Calling Out”

@jasmiineabela is one of the #MESC shortlisted artists in #Malta. See her react! #eurovision

A video posted by wiwibloggs (@wiwibloggs) on

PBS will now work to whittle these 60 songs down to just 16.

The lucky artists singing those numbers will then move on to the national final itself, to be held some time in February.

We already know that there will only be one show this year, as opposed to the semi-final and final format we’re used to seeing.

There’s been no update yet as to whether rumoured changes to the voting system will also take place.

One way or another, Malta will be hoping for a second consecutive appearance in the Eurovision final.

Ira Losco managed to take the country to 12th place in Stockholm. Along the way, she won the jury vote in her semi final too — all the while pregnant with her first child!

Are you excited by any of the names involved in this year’s Malta Eurovision Song Contest? Let us know what you think in the comments section below!

Follow all of our Malta Eurovision news here