Wiwi Jury Iceland: Söngvakeppnin 2017 Reviews and Rankings

Twelve acts will compete at Söngvakeppnin 2017 – the Icelandic national selection for Eurovision 2017 – but there will only be one winner. To help you make an informed decision on who to pay attention to, the Wiwi Jury – our in-house panel of music unprofessionals – will preview and review each of this year’s acts. Who will be our favourite from Iceland?

Our jury for this edition consists of 20 jurors who hail from Ireland, Iceland, Australia, Finland, Russia, Germany, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain, Bulgaria, the United Kingdom and the United States. We bring the international flavour, y’all.

Each juror assesses every song independently, and awards each song a score from 0 to 10. Before calculating the Wiwi Jury verdict, we drop the highest and lowest scores to reduce potential bias and outliers.

We’ll be unrolling these one by one over the coming weeks. You can read the completed reviews by clicking on the song title.

 Söngvakeppnin 2017: Reviews and Rankings

  1. Svala Björgvinsdóttir – “Paper” (7.89)
  2. Aron Hannes – “Tonight” (6.47)
  3. Rúnar Eff – “Make Your Way Back Home” (6.39)
  4. Hildur – “Bammbaramm” (6.03)
  5. Aron Brink – “Hypnotised” (5.97)
  6. Arnar Jónsson and Rakel Pálsdóttir – “Again” (5.86)
  7. Daði Freyr Pétursson – “Is This Love” (3.17)

Eliminated acts

* Ties are broken by preferential vote.