Denmark: Anja Nissen wins Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2017 with “Where I Am”

From ten finalists to three superfinalists to one winner — Anja Nissen has emerged victorious at Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2017! The Voice of Australia winner has become the DMGP queen and will now sing “Where I Am” at Eurovision 2017 in Kyiv.

After seeing the ten artists perform their numbers, a panel of five Danish Eurovision fans together with the Danish public voted three artists to the superfinal.

Ida Una, Johanna Beijbom and Anja Nissen then performed their songs again and it was Anja who got the most votes.

Ida finished second with “One” and Johanna Beijnom third with “A.S.A.P.”

Our readers’ favourite to win, the living doll Sada Vidoo, wasn’t among the top three. But Anja Nissen finished second in our poll, suggesting our readers will still be happy.

The artists together with the DMGP hosts Annette Heick and Johannes Nymark opened the show by performing “Dansevise” — the Eurovision 1963 winning song.

We also saw a performance by the Olsen Brothers, who won the contest in 2000 with “Fly on the Wings of Love”.

After winning the contest in 2013 and finishing ninth the following year, Denmark has failed to qualify to the final twice in a row. This year Denmark is hoping to get back to the final from the second semifinal of the contest.

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2017: superfinal results

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2017: finalists

1. Ida Una with “One”
2. Thomas Ring with “Vesterbro”
3. Rikke Skytte with “Color My World”
4. Anja Nissen with “Where I Am”
5. Calling Mercury with “Big Little Lies”
6. Anthony with “Smoke In My Eyes”
7. René Machon with “Warriors”
8. Sada Vidoo with “Northern Lights”
9. Jeanette Bonde with “Hurricane”
10. Johanna Beijbom with “A.S.A.P.”

Are you happy with the result? Who do you think should have won? Let us know on our app and in the comments section below!