Norway: JOWST wins Melodi Grand Prix 2017 with “Grab the Moment”

Whether it was a so-called “wrecking crew”, Sami joiking or country and western you wanted, tonight’s Melodi Grand Prix had it all. But the important thing was for Norway to select its act for Eurovision 2017. After two rounds of voting, Norway will be represented in Kyiv by JOWST with “Grab the Moment”!

JOWST — Grab the Moment

JOWST made it through to the Super Final, where they were victorious over three other songs. The other super-finalists were (in finishing order): Ammunition, Elin & The Woods and Ulrikke.

Ulrikke – Places

Elin & The Woods – “First Step in Faith (Oadjebasvuhti)

Ammunition – “Wrecking Crew”

Tonight’s result was decided in two ways. All ten acts performed first, with the four superfinalists decided by a combined jury and televote. Our own William read out the points for the UK jury!

Those four acts then all performed again, with the public having the final say on the results.

Jury Favourites:

  • Ireland: Ulrikke
  • Armenia: Ulrikke
  • Finland: Ammunition
  • Sweden: JOWST
  • Israel: JOWST
  • Germany: Ulrikke
  • Austria: Ammunition
  • Hungary: JOWST
  • Malta: JOWST
  • United Kingdom: Ella

Melodi Grand Prix 2017 — Running Order

  1. Ulrikke — “Places”
  2. Jenny Augusta — “I Go Where You Go”
  3. Rune Rudberg Band — “Run Run Away”
  4. Jowst — “Grab the Moment”
  5. Kristian Valen — “You and I”
  6. In Fusion — “Nothing Ever Knocked Us Over”
  7. Amina Sewali — “Mesterverk”
  8. Ammunition — “Wrecking Crew”
  9. Elin & The Woods — “First Step in Faith (Oadjebasvuhtii)”
  10. Ella — “Mama’s Boy”

What do you think of Norway’s decision? Do you think they’re heading back to the final after their year out? Shout out your thoughts on the wiwibloggs app or in our comments section!

Read more Norway Eurovision 2017 news here