United Kingdom: 20 years since her win, Katrina Leskanich to present Britain’s points


Twenty years ago she delivered the UK their most recent Eurovision victory. Now Katrina Leskanich will return to Eurovision as the UK’s points spokesperson for 2017. Could this be a good omen for Lucie Jones?

At Eurovision 1997, Katrina Leskanich, the lead singer for pop band Katrina and the Waves, gave the UK their fifth Eurovision victory with the uplifting tune “Love Shine a Light”. Twenty years on, Katrina will return to Eurovision to deliver the UK’s points and celebrate the last time the UK won Eurovision.

The BBC broke the news today via social media.

While it has been 20 years since Katrina won Eurovision, she hasn’t retired the song. In 2014, Deban caught up with Katrina at London Pride and had a chat about how Eurovision had changed her life.

Last year Katrina returned as a guest judge on the UK’s national final Eurovision: You Decide, and offered advice to the 2016 hopefuls.

The UK hasn’t had the best luck at Eurovision in the two decades since, but with buzz starting to build around Lucie Jones’ emotional ballad “Never Give Up on You”, could Katrina’s appearance be a good omen for the UK’s fortunes in Kyiv?

And 12 points goes to…

Katrina won’t be the only former Eurovision star delivering points on Saturday. Iceland is sending 1995 representative — and Svala’s dad — Bo Halldórsson. Latvia is giving us Burkina Faso realness with their 2015 representative and 2016 songwriter Aminata. And there are two familiar faces from Stockholm 2016 — Georgia is sending Nika Kocharov (minus his Young Georgian Lolitaz), while the Netherlands has cheeky chappy Douwe Bob.

Ukraine has a throwback to their first time hosting Eurovision — their points will be delivered by 2005 host Pavlo Shylko.

Other noteworthy spokespeople include the fierce, fabulous and fashion-forward Lee Lin Chin for Australia, Melodifestivalen 2016 and 2017 finalist Wiktoria for Sweden, while German national final host Barbara Schöneberger returns for a third year.