Estonia: Stig Rästa among the Eesti Laul 2018 semi-finalists


They were lost in Verona on their way to an early exit from Eurovision 2017 in Kyiv. But Estonia won’t let that spoil the party for the tenth anniversary of Eesti Laul in 2018.

And after combing through a record 258 entries, producers have finally revealed the 20 semi-finalists for next year’s competition. They did so this evening on the talk show Ringvaade.

Perhaps the biggest name announced is Stig Rästa. After his 2015 triumph with Elina Born, the “Goodbye to Yesterday” hitmaker has continued to enter as a songwriter. Now, he’s taking to the stage again with his self-penned entry “Home”.

Check out the full list of Eesti Laul participants below:

Eesti Laul 2018 semi-finalists

  • Aden Ray — “Everybody’s Dressed
  • Desiree — “On My Mind”
  • Elina Netsajeva — “La Forza”
  • Ellis Parna & Gerli Padar — “Sky”
  • Etnopatsy — “Külm
  • Evestus — “Welcome to my World”
  • Frankie Animal — “(Can’t Keep Calling) Misty
  • Girls in Pearls — “Spellbound”
  • Iiris & Agoh — “Drop That Boogie”
  • Indrek Ventmann — “Tempel”
  • Karl Kristjan & Karl Killing (ft. Wateva) — “Young”
  • Marju Lanik — “Täna otsuseid ei tee”
  • Metsakutsu — “Koplifornia”
  • Miljardid — “Pseudoprobleem”
  • Nika — “Knock Knock”
  • Rolf Roosalu — “Show A Little Love”
  • Sibyl Vane — “Thousands Words”
  • Stig Rästa — “Home”
  • Tiiu x Okym x Semy — “Näita oma energiat”
  • Vajé — “Laura (Walk With Me)”

Stig isn’t the only act returning, of course. Some of the other notable names include Rolf Roosalu, who appears in his first Eesti Laul since 2013. And Karl Kristjanwho finished 4th in last year’s final. He’s teamed up with Karl Killing & Wateva.

The semi-finalists were chosen by two groups. A professional jury, made up of musicians, and the media. Members of the Eesti Laul and ERR production team then chose their favourites.

The members of the jury were: Karl-Erik Taukar (musician), Koit Raudsepp (R2), Alon Amir (music manager, Israel), Mariliis Mõttus (Müürileht), Andres Puusepp (DJ), Jaane Tomps (Delfi), Harri Hakanen (YLE, Soome), Mingo Rajandi (musician), Siim Nestor (Eesti Ekspress), Getter Jaani (singer), Sten Teppan (Vikerraadio), Mari-Liis Männik (Elmar), Toomas Puna (Sky Plus), Irina Svensson (Raadio 4), Valner Valme (ERR culture).

Eesti Laul staff who picked their favorites: director Ove Musting, editor Ingrid Kohtla, editor Mai Palling, consultant from Sweden Filip Adamo, producer Ruth Heinmaa and producer Mart Normet.

Some songs are already available, which you can find in the above list. All the songs will be revealed on 19 and 20 December, giving y’all an early Christmas present.

The semi-finals of Eesti Laul get underway on 10 and 17 February, followed by the grand final on 3 March.

What do you think of the Eesti Laul 2018 lineup? Who are you most excited for? Can Estonia bounce back into the Eurovision grand final?

Follow all of our Estonia news here