Junior Eurovision 2017: Belarus’ Helena Meraai leads our poll on eve of first rehearsals


Tonight in Tbilsi the 16 acts vying to win the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2017 walked down the red carpet (and up a very steep set of stairs) to begin their journey to win this year’s contest. On the eve of first rehearsals we thought it was a good time to check in on our ongoing poll to see who our readers have on top before hearing all of the acts perform live.

In just eight days we have received a total of 31,376 votes — so many that our server crashed repeatedly. And one reason for that is the very clear love for Belarus’ Helena Meraai, who currently sits atop the poll with 9,134 votes — or around 29% of all those cast. The “I Am The One” singer seems to have convinced our readers that she is the one as they have heaped endless praise on her contemporary electro ballad.

The teen queen currently sits in first place with the Wiwi Jury, our in-house panel of music unprofessionals, who gave the song an average score of 9.03 — one of the highest ever-recorded on our site.

As Robyn wrote: “’I am the One’ is a surprisingly sophisticated piece of cool modern pop. This could easily be an entry in ESC, but Helena adds her own teen style. She brings a kind of Belarusian Ariana Grande style, with a touch of Eastern mystery mixed with R&B pop vocals.”

In our poll, Helena currently sits ahead of Georgia’s Grigol, who has earned nearly 25% of all votes, and Armenia’s Misha, who sits in third with 19%.

Note: This poll is not over yet. You can keep voting between now and November 25 at 17:00 CET.  You can see the current standings down below.

Who should win Junior Eurovision 2017? (Current Standings)

  1. Belarus: Helena Meraai 29.11% (9,134 votes)
  2. Georgia: Grigol Kipshidze 24.61% (7,723 votes)
  3. Armenia: Misha 18.69% (5,864 votes)
  4. Russia: Polia Bogusevich 6.84% (2,146 votes)
  5. Serbia: Irina & Jana 3.24% (1,018 votes)
  6. Malta: Gianluca Cilia 2.8% (877 votes)
  7. Poland: Alicja Rega 2.19% (688 votes)
  8. FYR Macedonia: Mina Blazev 2.19% (687 votes)
  9. Ukraine: Anastasiya Baginska 2.13% (669 votes)
  10. Cyprus: Nicole Nicolaou 1.7% (534 votes)
  11. Australia: Isabella Clarke 1.49% (468 votes)
  12. The Netherlands: Fource 1.45% (456 votes)
  13. Ireland: Muireann McDonnell 0.96% (300 votes)
  14. Portugal: Mariana Venancio 0.88% (277 votes)
  15. Italy: Maria Iside Fiore 0.86% (270 votes)
  16. Albania: Ana Kodra 0.84% (265 votes)

Total Votes: 31,376

Read more Junior Eurovision news