Eurovision 2017 champion Salvador Sobral wins an EBBA 2018 award


He’s the old school jazz crooner who scored Portugal its first ever Eurovision victory back in May. And today, Salvador Sobral has more silverware to add to his mantle following the announcement that he has won a prestigious European Border Breakers Award.

His EBBA 2018 win was revealed earlier this morning on Portuguese radio. Unfortunately, due to health reasons, Salvador wasn’t able to pick up the award in person. It was presented to his manager Ana Paulo in his absence.

Salvador Sobral Dress Rehearsal at Eurovision 2017

Salvador becomes the second Eurovision 2017 alum to scoop a 2018 EBBA. Earlier this month, Belgium’s Blanche received one for her success with “City Lights”.

Upon hearing the news, the rising star wrote:

I’m so so glad to be one of this year’s European Border Breakers Awards ! This is really one of the accomplishment that shows how successful the song has been, and that, is due to all of people that have support and keep supporting by listening, buying, sharing and singing the song 🙂 It makes me even more excited to share all the rest with you !!

Belgium’s Blanche wins a prestigious EBBA 2018 award

The European Union backed awards honour emerging artists who have enjoyed success across Europe.

Past EBBA winners include internationally acclaimed acts such as Alan Walker, Dua Lipa, Era Istrefi, Álvaro Soler, Christine and The Queens, Robin Schulz, Natalie La Rose, Years & Years, Hozier, Indila, John Newman, Tove Lo, and Mø — to name just a few.

Eurovision 2006 victor Helena Paparizou snagged a gong in 2007, while Eurovision 2014 runners-up the Common Linnets took one in 2015. The Dutch outfit also went home with the Public Choice prize.

So far, three other winners have been announced for 2018. They are Alice Merton (Germany), Off Bloom (Denmark), and Skott (Sweden). Five more will be revealed between now and the award ceremony on 17 January 2018.

Salvador Sobral Interview at Eurovision 2017

Follow all of our Portugal Eurovision 2018 news.