Armenia: Tamar Kaprelian and Asmik Shiroyan among acts confirmed for Depi Evratesil


Public Television of Armenia (AMPTV) has confirmed the 20 acts who will be competing to represent Armenia at Eurovision 2018. The 20 acts will compete in the national final Depi Evratesil — and there are some big names in the mix.

As we’ve long known, the Armenian-American singer Tamar Kaprelian is part of the lineup. She will perform her song “Touyn Ari” (Poisoned). Tamar has previously represented Armenia in 2015, as part of the supergroup Genealogy. She told wiwibloggs, “I want people in Armenia to know me as a songwriter, as a singer and as a social entrepreneur.”

One of the other acts, Lusine Mardanyan, is part of Tamar’s Nvak Foundation. The foundation is a non-traditional music education programme for young musicians.

Also on the list is Depi Evratesil 2017 contestant Asmik Shiroyan. This time last year, she was eliminated in the duel round of the long-running national final format. She is returning to the national final after getting encouragement from her fans. Asmik told wiwibloggs, “I even decided to ask my fans, Would you like me to be a participant in 2018? I was surprised that they reacted very positively, so I decided, Yes, I will, I’ll try again.”

The lineup also contains some heavy hitters from Armenia’s pop scene. On the list is Sevak Khanagyan, who won last year’s edition of The X Factor Ukraine. Also featuring is award-winning singer Hayk Kasparov.

Depi Evratesil 2018 – competing acts

  • Alternative (band)
  • Amaliya Margaryan
  • Angel
  • Arman Mesropyan
  • Asmik Shiroyan
  • Hayk Kasparov
  • Gata Band
  • Gevorg Harutyunyan
  • Kamil
  • Lusine Mardanyan
  • Maria’s Secret
  • Mariam
  • Mher Armenia
  • Nemra (band)
  • Robert Koloyan
  • Sevak Khanagyan
  • Suren Poghosyan
  • Tamar Kaprelian
  • Tyom
  • Zhanna Davtyan

The broadcaster has also confirmed that Depi Evratestil will involve three stages — a significant reduction from the 10-week process to select the act for Kyiv.

Depi Evratesil 2018 will begin on 3 February with the preliminary show. In the first stage, the 20 acts will perform their songs live. Then in the semi-final, the songs will be voted on by televote and by an international jury. The acts that have made it to the final will battle it out to win the position of Armenia’s act for Lisbon.

What do you think of the Depi Evratestil 2018 lineup? Who would you like to see represent Armenia in Lisbon? Share your thoughts below!