Russian National Music Awards 2017: Philipp Kirkorov, LOBODA and Sergey Lazerev pick up awards


Earlier this month Moscow played host to the Russian National Music Awards 2017. As in previous years, Eurovision stars picked up several gongs. In the run-up to Christmas and the holidays we forgot to publish this. So we’re going to correct that wrong right now

Russia’s King of Pop Philipp Kirkorov was one of the biggest winners of the night, taking home two awards. He won a special award for his contribution to the development of the Russian Music Industry and together with Eurovision 2016 heartthrob Sergey Lazerev he shared “Best Video”.

Kirkorov received the award for his song “Khimera”. The same song was also nominated as Dance Hit of the Year, but ultimately lost the category. Kirkorov performed “Khimera” at the award show with his characteristic flair and eccentricity. The performance, which you can watch above, includes an outlandish dance troupe, countless wigs and feathers, and giant LED flames. All in a night’s work!

Ukraine had its fair share of winners, too, including “Best Female Singer”, “Best Male Singer” and “Song of the Year”. Newcomer Alekseevwho is tipped to compete in Belarus’ Eurovision selection — ran away with the “Best Male Singer” award, leaving Eurovision alumni Sergey Lazarev, Dima Bilan and Philipp Kirkorov in his dust. Talk about upsetting the order of things!

Griby’s squatting Slav tribute “Taet lyod” won “Best Song of the Year”, while the Eurovision 2009 diva who simply calls herself LOBODA nabbed the award for “Best Female Singer”, beating former Serebro member Elena Temnikova. On the night itself, she performed her song “Sluchaynaya”, which was a hot mess of red that fused techno and Asian culture.

The show was filled with performances from many Eurovision stars. Ani Lorak, Dima Bilan and Polina Gagarina teamed up to pay a tribute to the recently deceased classical singer Dmitriy Khvorostovskiy.

Russian National Music Awards 2017 winners list

Best Male Singer – Alekseev
Best Female Singer – LOBODA
Best Pop Group – IOWA
Best Rock Group – Bi-2
Instrumentalist of the Year in Classical Music – Denis Mantsuev
Vocalist of the Year in Classical Music – Anna Netrebko
Songwriter of the Year – Mikhail Gutseriev
Best Song for in Film or Television Series – “A ya tebya net” by Yolka
Best Hip-Hop Singer – Basta
Romance of the City – Grigoriy Leps
Dance Hit of the Year – “Vite nado vyyti” by ESTRADARADA
Best Music Video – “Tak krasivo” by Sergey Lazarev, “Khimera” by Philipp Kirkorov and “Kak Chelentano” by Artur Pirozhkov
Composer of the Year – Igor Matvienko
Concert of the Year – Basta in the Olympic Arena
Song of the Year – “Taet lyod” by Griby
Prize for contribution to the development of the popular music industry – Philipp Kirkorv
Prize for an invaluable contribution to the Russian musical culture – Eduard Artemyev
Legend of the Domenstic Music – Lev Leshchenko

Did your favourites win an award? Let us know in the comments below!

Follow all Russia Eurovision news here

  • Picture: KP