Phénoménal! Soul group Pheno Men is next act confirmed for Destination Eurovision


So far, the acts announced for France’s national final Destination Eurovision have all been solo artists or duos. But now there’s a group. Pheno Men are a five-piece soul group who will perform “Jamais sans toi” (Never without you).

The group is made up of the five singers Eddy, Kay, Malcolm, Opé and Tiery. They all have backgrounds in gospel choirs and are hugely influenced by the Motown sound. They take inspiration from Motown greats such as Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, the Jackson 5 and Diana Ross and the Supremes.

But while their idols may be American, they bring a uniquely French take on the classic soul sound. The group has recently signed with MCA France and has their debut album coming out soon.

And while the group doesn’t have many performance videos online, this short a cappella clip shows the group’s tight vocal skills and the power of their combined voices.

Extrait Inédit

On n'a pas pu s'en empêcher, on vous dévoile un titre qui sera présent sur notre album "Comment je résiste".

Posted by Pheno Men on Wednesday, December 20, 2017

In the Destination Eurovision promo video, the group are shown hanging out together — and there’s clear camaraderie between the five. They talk about letting raw emotions come through in their music.

The subject of Eurovision comes up and one member speaks of the pride of wearing the colours of his county on stage.

Who are they? What do they want to tell us? Turn on the sound, and discover their exclusive profile, before finding them in #DestinationEurovision, from January 13, 2018 on @ france2tv!

The short excerpt of “Jamais sans toi” reveals a slick soul number. Their Motown influences are clear, with smooth and electrifying backing harmonies underscoring the lead vocal.

It’s unlike anything else in Destination Eurovision, which indicates that the brand new national final will offer a varied selection of fresh new French tunes.


The remaining competing songs will be revealed over the coming days, in the build-up to the first semi-final. The first semi airs on 13 January. Nine songs will compete in each of the two semi-finals, and four songs from each semi will go to the grand final.

You can follow the official Eurovision France 2 Facebook page for the latest updates.