Denmark: Ditte Marie and Sannie – AKA Whigfield – amongst Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2018 acts


Last year, Anja Nissen took Denmark back to the final for the first time since 2014 with “Where I Am”. Now, the Danish want to go even further and break in to the top ten. With that goal in mind, DR this morning have announced the ten acts in this year’s Dansk Melodi Grand Prix!

It’s a group full of some familiar names and newcomers. You can find all the acts below, with a link to their artist page on the DR website:

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2018: Participants

  1. Ditte Marie — “Riot”
  2. Anna Ritsmar — “Starlight”
  3. Rasmussen — “Higher Ground”
  4. Sannie — “Boys on Girls”
  5. Sandra — “Angels to My Battlefield”
  6. Lasse Meling — “Unfound”
  7. CARLSEN — “Standing Up for Love”
  8. KARUI — “Signals”
  9. Rikke Ganer-Tolsøe — “Holder fast i ingenting”
  10. Albin Fredy — “Music for the Road”

Amongst the familiar names is Ditte Marie. The singer last participated in DMGP in 2012, singing “Overflow”. Ditte was also part of Le Freak in 2011. She didn’t make the Superfinal on either occasion, but returns for another go this year.

She’ll be singing “Riot” this year. The song’s writers include Lise Cabble, who co-wrote Emmelie de Forest’s “Only Teadrops”. Lise also wrote debutant Anna Ritsmar’s entry, “Starlight”.

DMGP 2018 will take place on February 10 — which just happens to be a Saturday night. Sannie will be singing “Boys on Girls” in the contest, but she’s likely best known by her previous moniker: Whigfield.

The 90s dance pop star had her breakout hit in 1994 with “Saturday Night”. A classic of cheesy pop compilations ever since, she’s since branched out. She’s been releasing songs under her real name (Sannie Carlson) since 2016.

In the debutants, Lasse Meling has flirted with Eurovision in the past. He released a music video for his own take on Lucie Jones’ “Never Give Up On You” in 2017. He’ll sing “Unfound” in this year’s DMGP.

And it’s not just the mainland getting involved this year. Faroese sisters Vanja, Laila and Barbara make up the group CARLSEN. They enter with “Standing Up For Love”.

We’ll have to wait a little longer for songs, unfortunately. They’ll be released the week of the show in full, on February 5.

DMGP 2018: Changes to format

This year’s show will see a small change to the usual DMGP format. The short intro videos that precede entries have been scrapped altogether. This means the first time that viewers will see the acts is when they’re on stage performing.

Otherwise, the Dansk Melodi Grand Prix format remains the same as last year. Televoters and a jury of 5 Eurovision fans will have a 50/50 say on who makes it to the Superfinal, and then to Eurovision from there. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it y’all!

Which of the ten Danish acts are you most excited about? Do you know the “Saturday Night” dance? Let us know all your thoughts in the comments section below.

Read more Denmark Eurovision news here