Eurovision 2018: All songs and participating countries

Eurovision 2018: All songs and participating countries

Eurovision 2018: Dates, location, hosts

The Eurovision Song Contest 2018 will take place in Portugal, hosted by Rádio e Televisão de Portugal (RTP). Lisbon will mostly likely host the 2018 event, and it is likely to be held at MEO Arena.

The contest will take place in May 2018, though the exact dates are still to be confirmed.

Which countries are doing Eurovision 2018?

15 countries have provisionally confirmed for Eurovision 2018. After 1 September 2018, broadcasters may reveal selected songs.


Flemish broadcaster  VRT will be organising Belgium’s entry this year. The broadcaster has confirmed that they will choose their act via internal selection rather than via their usual Eurosong national final.


Cypriot broadcaster CyBC has confirmed they will return to Eurovision 2018. After using internal selection for the past two years, the broadcaster will return to using a national final to pick their act for 2018.


Broadcaster ERR has confirmed Estonia will return to Lisbon. They will again use the national final Eesti Laul, which will celebrate its tenth year. The grand final of Eesti Laul will take place on 3 March 2018.


Finnish broadcaster UMK has confirmed their participation for 2018. They will again use the national final Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu, which still take place in early 2018.


Broadcaster France 2 has confirmed their participation for 2018. While in previous years the broadcaster has selected their act via internal selection, for 2018 the broadcaster is considering using a national final called Mission Eurovision.


They may have had disappointing results for three years running, but German broadcaster NDR has confirmed they will return to Eurovision 2018. Their method of selection has not been confirmed, but it is likely they will use some form of their national selection Unser Song.


RTÉ has tentatively confirmed for Portugal. Their method of selection has not been confirmed. For the past two years, the broadcaster has used internal selection, but RTÉ is considering reintroducing some form of national selection.


Broadcaster LTV has confirmed Latvia for Eurovision 2018. Their selection method has not been confirmed, but it is likely that they will again use the national final Supernova.


Broadcaster LRT has confirmed Lithuania for 2018. They will again use their epic national final “Eurovizijos” dainu konkurso nacionaline atranka. There has been suggestion that the 2018 series will involve a Melodifestivalen-style tour around different Lithuanian towns.


Malta will again use its national selection, the Malta Eurovision Song Competition. Broadcaster PBS has confirmed the competition will again use 100% televote to select its winner.


Broadcaster NRK will participate in 2018. They will again use the national final Melodi Grand Prix. Entries are currently open and will close on 10th September 2017.


Broadcaster TVP has provisionally confirmed their participation for 2018, and plans to hold a national final to select their act for Lisbon.


The host broadcaster will of course be back for 2018. Portugal will again use their long-running national final Festival da Canção. It is expected to have a similar format to 2017, with invited composers and two semi-finals.


RTVSLO will be back for 2018 and they will again use their national final EMA. This year the contest will require that songs are performed in Slovene or one of the minority languages of the country (Croatian, German, Hungarian, Italian, Romani and Serbian.)


Swedish broadcaster SVT will be back for 2018. They will again use the successful national selection Melodifestivalen. Applications for Melfest will open on 1 September 2017.

Countries still to confirm

  • Australia: Australia will again need to be invited to participated by the EBU. Australia’s Head of Delegation has spoken of the possibility of holding a national final to choose its selection for 2018.
  • Bulgaria: Broadcaster BNT has a new director-general so has not yet committed to Eurovision 2018.
  • Czech Republic: While Ceska Televize has not confirmed its participation for 2018, the broadcaster has told fan media that it is “considering” regular participation at Eurovision.
  • Greece: While Greece has not yet confirmed for 2018, earlier in the year the chairman of broadcaster ERT said that Eurovision was “a requirement” for ERT.
  • Israel: National broadcaster broadcaster IBA closed in 2017 and new broadcaster KAN is in the process of becoming a member of the EBU. Once that membership has been confirmed, Israel will be able to enter Eurovision 2018. It is likely that Israel would again use Rising Star as the national final.
  • Italy: Broadcaster RAI has said they remain committed to Eurovision, and have been inspired by the technology of Eurovision and aim to make improvements to the presentation of the Sanremo Song Festival.
  • Russia: Following Russia’s withdrawal in 2017, broadcaster Channel One Russia promised that act Yuliya Samoylova would have the chance to compete in 2018. However, Russia’s participation in Portugal has not been confirmed, and the broadcaster may face sanctions from the EBU.
  • San Marino: Following their non-qualification in Kyiv, the director-general of SMRTV expressed his doubts about the future of San Marino at Eurovision.
  • Spain: It has been rumoured that broadcaster RTVE will resurrect the talent show Operación Triunfo as Spain’s national selection for 2018, however this has not been confirmed.

And these countries are still to confirm: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Georgia, Hungary, Iceland, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Romania, Serbia, , Switzerland, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

These non-participating countries of 2017 are yet to confirm for 2018: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Monaco, Morocco, Slovakia and Turkey.

Which countries aren’t doing Eurovision 2018?

  • Andorra: RTVA has confirmed that Andorra will not be returning to Eurovision, due to financial reasons.
  • Luxembourg: Despite an active local fan community, broadcaster RTL has confirmed that Luxembourg will not return to Eurovision, due to the usual reasons of budget and size.