Wiwi Jury: Junior Eurovision 2014

Wiwi Jury: Junior Eurovision 2014

jesc 2014 junior eurovision contestants logo wiwibloggs

Junior Eurovision 2014 previews and reviews

Sixteen acts will compete at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2014 in Malta, but there can only be one winner. To help you make an informed decision about where to cast your vote, the Wiwi Jury—our in-house panel of music un-professionals—will preview and review each of this year’s acts. We’re ready to pick our JESC favourites!

Our jury for this edition consists of 13 jurors who hail from Albania, Austria, Australia, Britain, Croatia, Finland, Georgia, the Netherlands, Romania, and the United States. We are truly international, y’all! Each juror assesses each song independently, and then awards each song a score from 0 to 10. Before calculating the Wiwi Jury verdict, we drop the highest and lowest scores to reduce potential bias and outliers.

We’ll be unrolling these one by one over the coming weeks. You can read the completed reviews by clicking on the song title. If we have not yet reviewed a song, you can preview it by clicking on the song title in the second section below. You can also vote in our Junior Eurovision 2014 poll by clicking here.

 Junior Eurovision 2014: Reviews and rankings

1. Cyprus: Sophia Patsalides – I Pio Omorfi Mera (9.45)

2. Slovenia: Ula Lozar – Nisi Sam (8.91) **

3. Belarus: Nadezdha Misyakova – Sokal (8.91) **

4. Bulgaria: Krisia, Hasan and Ibrahim – Planet of the Children (8.58)

5. The Netherlands: Julia van Bergen – Around (8.23)

6. Russia: Alisa Kozhikina – Dreamer (7.86)

7. Sweden: Julia Kedhammar – Du Ar Inte Ensam (7.64)

8. Georgia: Lizi Pop – Happy Day (7.5)

9. Ukraine:  Sympho – Nick – Spring will Come (6.95)

10. Armenia: Betty with “People of the Sun” (6.91)

11. Serbia: Emilija Djonin – Svet U Mojim Ocima (6.72)

12. Malta: Federica Falzon – Diamonds (6.68)

13. Italy: Vincenzo Cantiello – Tuo Primo Grande Amore (6.54)

14. San Marino: The Peppermints – Breaking My Heart (6.45)

15. Croatia: Josie – Game Over (5.27)

16. Montenegro: Lejla Vulic & Masa Vujadinovic – Budi Dijete Na Jedan Dan (5.09)

** Slovenia and Belarus finished with identical averages of 8.91 when we dropped the lowest and highest scores, leaving us with 11 ratings. To break the tie we took the average from all 13 jurors. Slovenia won with an average of 8.88 to Belarus’ 8.77.

Start the buzz

To create audio, video and animated text comments, you'll need to download the wiwibloggs app, available in the Apple Store and Google Play. Comments you make on the app will appear on the web site. You can, of course, make traditional text comments on the web site by scrolling down. Press the box below to watch the comments in action. And don't forget: You can win a trip for two to Eurovision 2017 in Ukraine by entering our app competition.  

40 Comments

  1. Capitano08!
    October 30, 2016 @ 6:06 am

    Cyprus! She reminds me so much of Ivi Adamou, in a very good way!

  2. kate
    November 14, 2014 @ 12:05 am

    Krisia,Hasan,Ibrahim -The Planet of the children. Very beautiful song.Number one

  3. Miroslava
    November 13, 2014 @ 12:35 am

    Bulgaria Krisia number 1

  4. Iliyana Kaminska
    November 12, 2014 @ 7:16 pm

    Krisia and Ibrahim & Hasan the best ! Bulgaria N=1 ….!!!

  5. Laura
    November 11, 2014 @ 10:59 pm

    Malta =)

  6. Adrian Adrianov
    November 10, 2014 @ 6:03 pm

    1- Bulgarien (10/10)
    2- Slowenien (9/10)
    3- Russland (8/10)
    4- Belarus (710)
    5- Serbien (6/10)
    6- Schweden ( 5/10)
    7- Zypern (4/10)
    8- San Marino (3/10)
    9- Georgia (2/10)
    10- Niederlande (1/10)

  7. Thiefo
    November 9, 2014 @ 5:48 pm

    As with all lists of this type, it all boils down to personal taste, so we’re always bound to disagree on a few spots. I personally disagree with most of it actually haha 😛 I have Malta, Russia, Ukraine and Armenia higher on my own list … but at least we can agree on Cyprus! Sophia is also my #1 this year, so go Cyprus!

  8. Wladyslaw Kaminski
    November 8, 2014 @ 8:01 pm

    Krisia and Hasan & Ibrahim nomber ! Your ist super !!!

  9. Iliyana kaminska
    November 8, 2014 @ 7:54 pm

    The best ! Super ! Nise ! Kiss,kiss,kiss for Krisia and Nasan & Ibrahim ! Nomber – 1 !!! Bravo !

  10. Wladyslaw Kaminski
    November 8, 2014 @ 7:51 pm

    Bardzo dobre ! Oni sa nesamowiti ! Numer 1 !

  11. Iliyana kaminska
    November 8, 2014 @ 7:47 pm

    The Best ! Super ! Nise ! Kiss,kiss,kiss for Krisia and Hasan & Ibrahim !!! Bravo !

  12. Macanudo
    November 8, 2014 @ 4:20 pm

  13. Valentina
    November 8, 2014 @ 1:50 pm

    Krisia <3 <3 <3

  14. ESC 4ever
    November 8, 2014 @ 10:05 am

    Cyprus!!

  15. ESC 4ever
    November 8, 2014 @ 10:04 am

    Top 16:
    1-Cyprus (forever and ever my favorite of this jesc edition) 10/10
    2-Slovenia (“Nisi sam” i love that song) 9.5/10
    3-Te Netherlands (One of the best this year) 9/10
    4-Belarus (Also good song this year well done) 9/10
    5-Sweden (My guilty song i hope this is the first song from Sweden that can win) 9/10
    6-Georgia (Its growing up for me slowley but i love her voice) 8.5/10
    7-Italy (The only boy in this competion that sings good luck) 8/10
    8-Bulgaria (Sorry but i dont know i hate that song but i love her voice) 7/10
    9-Russia (Boring GAIA was better last year from Malta) 6.5/10
    10-Ukraine (Lovley just Lovely) 6.5/10
    11-Armenia (I only love the studio version) 6.5/10
    12-Serbia (First i love it second to boring) 6.5/10
    13-San-Marino (nothing special but i love the tune its catchy) 6.5/10
    14-Croatia (the same like Malta and Montenegro old fashion) 5.5/10
    15-Malta (Voice is perfect but not for jesc dumbs up for the first opera after moldova’s 2013 boy) 5/10
    16-Montenegro (Sorry i expect more) 5/10

  16. trinitty
    November 8, 2014 @ 8:14 am

    Krisia, charismatic girl, good luck! You are the best of the best!

  17. PP
    November 8, 2014 @ 12:05 am

    And Italy and Serbia very underrated on list.

  18. PP
    November 8, 2014 @ 12:04 am

    For me on Junior Eurovision 2014: Reviews and rankings 2 countries are very overrated The Netherlands with (8.23) and Sweden (7.64)

  19. Sam
    November 6, 2014 @ 8:48 am

    Malta is the winner

  20. Daniel
    November 5, 2014 @ 7:31 pm

    @Cinnamon Oh OK. Thankyou! And sorry, I meant to say I’m not saying this sarcastically…

  21. ilcanta
    November 5, 2014 @ 6:17 pm

    Malta

  22. Error
    November 5, 2014 @ 2:20 pm

    Malta!

  23. Patricia
    November 4, 2014 @ 5:18 pm

    Bulgaria- the winner!

  24. ilcanta
    November 4, 2014 @ 3:43 pm

    Malta MAlta Malta

  25. debri
    November 4, 2014 @ 3:42 pm

    Malta will win again!

  26. KREMENA
    November 3, 2014 @ 9:41 pm

    KRISIQ BG

  27. KREMENA
    November 3, 2014 @ 9:41 pm

    KRISIQ BG

  28. Helena's fan
    November 3, 2014 @ 4:01 pm

    1. Cyprus
    2. Sweden
    3. Belarus
    4. Netherlands
    5. Malta
    6. Russia
    7. San Marino
    8. Serbia
    9. Georgia
    10. Slovenia
    11. Bulgaria (I hope)
    12. Croatia
    13. Montenegro
    14. Ukraine
    15. Armenia
    16. Italy

  29. Ricardo
    November 3, 2014 @ 3:39 pm

    Bulgaria!

  30. Leonardo
    November 2, 2014 @ 9:50 pm

    1. Georgia
    2. Ukraine
    3. Sweden

  31. GB
    November 2, 2014 @ 8:31 am

    BULGARIA-Krisia

  32. Cinnamon
    November 1, 2014 @ 9:57 pm

    @Daniel Yes however they aren’t singing they’re just playing pianos 🙂

  33. KV
    November 1, 2014 @ 8:48 am

    1. Montenegro (only one kids song)
    2. Netherlands
    3. Georgia

  34. julia markova
    October 31, 2014 @ 4:37 pm

    Krisia ,Hasan end Ibrahim

  35. ???? ???????
    October 31, 2014 @ 4:35 pm

    Krisia ,Hasan and Ibrahim-Planet of the children.

  36. Macanudo
    October 30, 2014 @ 3:40 pm

    Malta for the win! exceptional song and amazing voice! how do they do it ?! 🙂

  37. Daniel
    October 29, 2014 @ 12:47 pm

    @Cinnamon well yes but aren’t Ibrahim and Hasan male? I’m saying this sarcastically, I am actually asking.

    Anyway I LOVE all the songs this year (except Montenegro and Italy)

  38. Cinnamon
    October 25, 2014 @ 5:09 pm

    They’re all girls except for Vincenzo

  39. D
    October 25, 2014 @ 3:06 pm

    Over all average for the year: 7.5/10

  40. D
    October 25, 2014 @ 3:04 pm

    Final Top 16 with Scores:
    1- Slovenia (10/10)
    2- Bulgaria (10/10)
    3- Russia (10/10)
    4- Belarus (10/10)
    5- Serbia (10/10)
    6- Sweden (9/10)
    7- Cyprus (9/10)
    8- San Marino (8/10)
    9- Georgia (8/10)
    10- Netherlands (7/10)
    11- Armenia (6.5/10)
    12- Croatia (6/10)
    13- Malta (5/10)
    14- Ukraine (5/10)
    15- Montenegro (4/10)
    16- Italy (3/10)

Leave a Reply

*

Google+