The European Broadcasting Union today announced that 43 countries will be flying their flags at Eurovision 2012 in Baku.

The announcements puts to rest months of speculation that perennial Eurovision contenders Armenia and Romania would not compete. The head of Armenia’s delegation previously stated that he wasn’t sure if the Azeris could provide sufficient security for the Armenian entry. As y’all already know, Armenia and Azerbaijan have been engaged in political hostilites for decades.

Eurovisin's Next Top Model 2010: Romania's Paula Seling

Romania, which has twice won Wiwi’s search for Eurovision’s Next Top Model, also appear to have signed up for the show, despite earlier speculation they couldn’t afford it. Participating in Eurovision is far more important than paying back the International Monetary Fund.

Italy, Hungary, Austria and San Marino clearly enjoyed themselves during their respective returns in 2011: they’ll each be returning this year. Montenegro, which last competed in 2008, is also back. Remember their dancer from that year? HOT.

“We are excited to once again see over 40 countries at the Eurovision Song Contest,” Jon Ola Sand, the contest’s executive supervisor, said after the announcement.” They will gather in Baku in May, get to know the country and its people, and most of all, be part of the most spectacular music entertainment show on earth.”

The 43 countries and the broadcasters fielding them are:

  • Albania (RTVSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Austria (ORF)
  • Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV) (Host Broadcaster)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (VRT)
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina (BHRT)
  • Bulgaria (BNT)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Cyprus (CyBC)
  • Denmark (DR)
  • Estonia (ERR)
  • Finland (YLE)
  • France (France TV)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Georgia (GTVR)
  • Germany (NDR/ARD)
  • Greece (ERT)
  • Hungary (MTV)
  • Iceland (RÚV)
  • Ireland (RTÉ)
  • Israel (IBA)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Latvia (LTV)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • Montenegro (RTCG)
  • The Netherlands (TROS)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • San Marino (SMRTV)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Slovakia (STV)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Spain (RTVE)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Switzerland (SRG/SSR)
  • Turkey (TRT)
  • Ukraine (NTU)
  • United Kingdom (BBC)

Poland, sadly, is not among them. Apparently the state broadcaster would rather broadcast the Euro 2012 soccer championships.

The Semi-Final Allocation Draw takes place on January 25. A total of 37 countries will compete in the two semi-finals. Ten competitors will advance from each heat to the Grand Final. The Big 5 (Britain, Italy, France, Germany and Spain) will automatically receive a place in the final because they invest the most money in the contest. As the host nation, Azerbaijan will round out the 26 finalists.

Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
10 years ago


10 years ago

ya?a Azerbaycan turkleri allah turk milletini qorusun

11 years ago

allah sizi oldursun ermeniler insallah qarabaq size mezar olar