Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu is back but things are a bit different in 2018. This year, Saara Aalto has been internally selected as the Finnish representative. The national final will be used to determine her song at Eurovision. Saara will perform three songs and the song chosen as the winner will be the one she takes to Lisbon for Eurovision 2018.

The Wiwi Jury — our in-house panel of music unprofessionals — has sat down to review the three tracks. With Finland having been absent from the Eurovision grand final since 2014, the Wiwi Jury is hoping to find a song that will change their fortunes.

Our jury for Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2018 consists of 16 jurors. They come from Australia, Bulgaria, Hungary, Israel, Lithuania, New Zealand, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Each juror assesses each song independently, and awards each song a score from 0 to 10. Before calculating the Wiwi Jury verdict, we drop the highest and lowest scores to reduce potential bias and outliers.

We’ll be reviewing the songs one at a time over the coming days. You can read the reviews by clicking on the song title.

Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2018 reviews and rankings

  1. Saara Aalto – “Monsters” (8.96)
  2. Saara Aalto – “Domino” (7.36)
  3. Saara Aalto – “Queens” (7.29)


Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
5 years ago

For me it’s
1. Monsters
2. Domino
3. Queens

5 years ago

Shouldn’t domino be ranked second? (.36 is higher than .29) Mistakes happen 🙂