The Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016 will take place in Malta. Valetta will host the contest in the Mediterranean Conference Centre

The final is scheduled for Sunday 20 November at 4:00pm (16:00) CET.

For 2016, the show will no longer use televoting. The scoring will be decided with a 50/50 split between a professional jury and kids juries.

The contest’s age limit has been adjusted lower, to include singers between the ages of 9 and 14.

Which countries are doing Junior Eurovision 2016?

The EBU has confirmed that 17 countries will participate in Junior Eurovision 2016.

Returning to the competition will be Cyprus, Israel and Poland, while withdrawing from JESC will be Montenegro, San Marino and  Slovenia.

Albania – Klesta Qehaja “Besoj”

Klesta Qehaja won Albania’s national final Festivali i Këngës për Fëmijë, and will represent her country with “Besoj” (“I believe”). In November it underwent a major revamp, which resulted in a super glossy music video.

Armenia – Anahit & Mary “Tarber”

Armenia will be represented by Anahit Adamyan and Mary Vardanyan, both aged 13. The two were selected internally. They will sing “Tarber”, which means “Differences”.

Australia – Alexa Curtis “We Are”

Australia’s act for Valletta will be 12-year-old Alexa Curtis. In 2014 she won the Australian edition of The Voice Kids. Broadcaster SBS selected Alexa internally and she will sing “We Are” in Malta.

Belarus – Alexander Minenok “Muzyka moikh pobed”

Belarus’ boy is Alexander Minenok, who will sing “Muzyka moikh pobed” (“Music of my victories”). He earned the ticket to Malta by winning the national final in August.

Bulgaria – Lidia Ganeva “Valsheben den (Magical Day)”

2015 host Bulgaria will be represented by Lidia Ganeva, after she won the national final Detsata na Bulgariya sa Super. Lidia will sing “Valsheben den” (“Magical day”) in Malta.

Cyprus – George Michaelides “Dance Floor”

Returning country Cyprus will be represented by George Michaelides with his song “Dance Floor”. George was selected by a five-member jury.

Georgia – Mariam Mamadashvili “Mzeo”

Georgia has internally selected 10-year-old Mariam MamadashviliMariam will sing “Mzeo”, which she co-wrote the song with “Gabade” writer Giga Kukhianidze.


Zena Donnelly won Ireland’s national final Junior Eurovision Éire, featuring guest judges Jedward and Linda Martin. Zena once sang with Whitney Houston!

Israel –  Shir & Tim “Follow My Heart”

Israel is returning to Junior Eurovision after last competing in 2012. They will be represented by the girl-boy duo Shir & Tim. Their song “Follow My Heart” features guitar, strings and drums, and is the only boy-girl duet in the contest.

Italy –  Fiamma Boccia “Cara Mamma – Dear Mom”

The 2014 winners will again compete in Junior Eurovision. They will send Fiamma Boccia, who will sing “Cara Mamma – Dear Mom”.

FYR Macedonia –  Martija Stanojkovic “Love Will Lead Our Way”

FYR Macedonia will send 12-year-old Martija Stanojkovic with her song “Love Will Lead Our Way”. Martija was chosen by internal selection. Earlier this year she placed second on the kids talent show Pinkove Zvezde.

Malta – Christina Magrin “Parachute”

The host country will send 13-year-old Christina Magrin, who won the national final, Malta Junior Eurovision Song Contest . She will sing “Parachute”.

Netherlands – Kisses “Kisses and Dancin'”

Switching from their traditional national final selection, the Netherlands have internally selected three-piece girl group Kisses, made up of Kymora, Stefania and Sterre. They will be singing “Kisses and Dancin'”.

Poland –  Olivia Wieczorek “Nie zapomnij”

After a 12-year absence, Poland is returning to Junior EurovisionThey will send Olivia Wieczorek, the winner of national final Krajowe eliminacje Konkursu Piosenki Eurowizji Junior 2016. She will sing “Nie zapomnij”

Russia – Water of Life Project “Water of Life”

Russia will be represented by the Water of Life Project, based around the national selection winner, 14-year-old Sofia Fisenko. The girl group will sing “Water of Life”.

Serbia – Dunja Jelicic “U la la la”

Serbia is again competing in Junior Eurovision. Serbia’s act for Malta is 12-year-old Dunja Jelicic who will sing “U La La La”.

Ukraine – Sofia Rol “Planet Craves For Love”

The Eurovision 2017 host nation will send Sofia Rol to Junior Eurovision, with her song “Planet Craves For Love”.

Which countries aren’t doing Junior Eurovision 2016?

As well as those three countries, these previous JESC participants have again chosen not to compete: Azerbaijan, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, France, Greece, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

Read all of our Junior Eurovision 2016 news