Poll results: Molly Sandén and Ace Wilder are the Melodifestivalen 2016 acts you are most excited for

Grab your popcorn and turn up the volume on your TV — Melodifestivalen 2016 kicks off this Saturday with the first heat in Gothenburg. The team from wiwibloggs will have a reporter on-the-scene as the seven acts battle for the first two places in the final and another two in the Second Chance round. Back in November, shortly after SVT announced this year’s 28 finalists, we asked all you scandipop fans to let us know which artists you’re most looking forward to. They may not have released their songs, but most of them have big reputations and you were most definitely ready to sound off. After counting 3,177 votes, we can reveal that two acts have emerged as front-runners: Molly Sandén and Ace Wilder. The bookies certainly agree: they’re also the favourites to win over at UNIBET.

Molly, who will sing the unfortunately named “Youniverse”, came out on top with 451 votes, or around 14% of all those cast. She has a huge profile in Sweden and previously placed fifth at Melodifestivalen 2012 with her song “Why Am I Crying?” Well baby no tears today — you are riding a huge wave of hype!

In second place, just seven votes behind her, is Ace Wilder, who will sing “Don’t Worry”. In 2014 she came out of nowhere (and via Florida, y’all) to place second at Melodifestivalen, even winning the jury vote over eventual winner Sanna Nielsen. We’ve been praying for her return and the universe (err, “Youniverse”?) has finally delivered.

Finnish pop star Krista Siegfrids and 2015 breakout stars Molly Pettersson Hammer and Isa round out the Top 5.

You can see the full results below. Who is getting you excited? Let us know in the comments section!

Melodifestivalen 2016: Previewing the four semi-finals

Which Melodifestivalen 2016 act you are most excited for? (Results)

  1. Molly Sandén with “Youniverse” 14.2% (451 votes)
  2. Ace Wilder with “Don’t Worry” 13.98% (444 votes)
  3. Krista Siegfrids with “Faller” 13% (413 votes)
  4. Molly Pettersson Hammar with “Hunger” 10.04% (319 votes)
  5. Isa with “I Will Wait” 7.24% (230 votes)
  6. Dolly Style with “Rollercoaster” 6.36% (202 votes)
  7. Samir & Viktor with “Bada Nakna” 4.78% (152 votes)
  8. David Lindgren with “We Are Your Tomorrow” 4.41% (140 votes)
  9. Lisa Ajax with “My Heart Wants Me Dead” 3.9% (124 votes)
  10. Oscar Zia with “Human” 3.37% (107 votes)
  11. Linda Bengtzing with “Killer Girl” 3.27% (104 votes)
  12. Albin & Mattias Andréasson with “Rik” 1.89% (60 votes)
  13. Panetoz with “Håll om mig hårt” 1.83% (58 votes)
  14. After Dark with “Kom ut som en stjärna” 1.57% (50 votes)
  15. Martin Stenmarck with “Du tar mig tillbaks” 1.51% (48 votes)
  16. Swingfly feat. Helena Gutarra with “You Carved Your Name” 1.23% (39 votes)
  17. Robin Bengtsson with “Constellation Price” 1.16% (37 votes)
  18. SaRaHa with “Kizunguzungu” 1.07% (34 votes)
  19. SMILO with “Weight of the World” 0.91% (29 votes)
  20. Eclipse with “Runaways” 0.79% (25 votes)
  21. Pernilla Andersson with “Mitt guld” 0.69% (22 votes)
  22. Wiktoria with “Save Me” 0.57% (18 votes)
  23. Frans with “If I Were Sorry” 0.54% (17 votes)
  24. Anna Book with “Himmel för två” 0.5% (16 votes)
  25. Boris René with “Put Your Love On Me” 0.38% (12 votes)
  26. Mimi Werner with “Ain’t No Good” 0.28% (9 votes)
  27. Victor och Natten with “100%” 0.28% (9 votes)
  28. Tommy Nilsson, Patrik Isaksson & Uno Svenningsson with “Håll mit hjärta hårt” 0.25% (8 votes)

Total Votes: 3,177

Read more Melodifestivalen news

Download the My Eurovision Scoreboard App