Poll results: Aron Hannes is your favourite to win Iceland’s Söngvakeppnin 2018


Earlier this week we asked you to vote for you favourite to win Söngvakeppnin 2018. The votes have been tallied and Aron Hannes has won with his song “Gold Digger”. Let’s do this!

1,419 votes in our poll and Aron nabbed nearly a third of them with his ‘my-girlfriend-is-not-a-nice-person’ funk-pop favourite. To be more precise he took 457 votes in total, or just over 32%.

Aron was also the clear favourite in this year’s Icelandic Wiwi jury as well, with a 7.25 average. Now we just have to wait and see whether the Icelandic audience – and jury – agrees.

Our readers’ second favourite is the group Fókus with the power ballad “Battleline”. They got 340 votes in total, or just under 24%, with 117 less votes than the favourite.

Coincidentally this was also the Wiwi Jury’s second favourite with a 6.62 average score.

It is pretty obvious that the top 2 are both clear favourites as the third place only got 185 votes, or a little over 13%, around 150 votes less than the second place and around 270 votes less than the first place. This is the colourfully dressed women’s band Heimilistónar with their motown-inspired friendship anthem “Kúst og fæjó”.

This was the Wiwi Jury’s fourth favourite, with a 5.88 average score. But since the jury’s third place – Guðmundur Þórarinsson’s “Colours” – didn’t make it to the final you could say that our readers and the Wiwi Jury are in total unison when it comes to this years Söngvakeppnin.

Full results: Who should win Iceland’s Söngvakeppnin 2018

Söngvakeppnin 2018 – Final running order

  1. Fókus – “Battleline”
  2. Áttan – “Here For You”
  3. Ari Ólafsson – “Our Choice”
  4. Heimilistónar – “Kúst og fæjó”
  5. Aron Hannes – “Gold Digger”
  6. Dagur Sigurðsson – “Í stormi”


Apart from the competing acts, Söngvakeppnin’s final show will include performances from Sweden’s Robin Bengtsson – who will perform his 2017 entry “I Can’t Go On” –  and Denmark’s Emmelie de Forest – who will perform her winning song from 2013 “Only Teardrops“.

The show will of course also include last year’s Icelandic representative, Svala, who will perform her song “Paper“. On top of that RÚV has announced that there will be a secret performer and we have a very good reason to believe that is someone not from Iceland.

The winner of Söngvakeppnin will be determined over two rounds. First round has all 6 competing acts performing where a 50% televote and 50% jury will chose the top 2. Those 2 acts will then perform again where a 100% televote will determine Iceland’s representative in Lisbon in May.

What do you think of the poll results? Do you think that Aron Hannes will indeed win Söngvakeppnin tonight? Let us know in the comments below!

Follow all our Iceland news here

Vote in more of our Eurovision 2018 polls here