Iceland reveals Söngvakeppnin 2017 final running order

Birthday parties, honeymoons, the availability of your favourite celeb nudes — all good things must come to an end. And so it goes in Iceland where  Söngvakeppnin 2017 reaches its grand conclusion on Saturday March 11.

Seven finalists will compete for the right to represent Iceland at Eurovision 2017 in Kyiv in May. All seven finalists will sing their tunes — which range from Caribbean cool to moving ballad to contemporary electronica. Then, based on a 50% jury, 50% televote split, two will advance to the ‘superfinal’. Power then shifts fully to the people: The winner will be determined solely by the televote.

During the semi-finals all of the acts had to sing in Icelandic. During the final they can sing in English if they intend to perform their song in English at Eurovision.



Söngvakeppnin 2017 final running order


1. Aron Hannes – “Tonight

Composer: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson

Lyrics: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson

2. Arnar and Rakel – “Again

Composer: Hólmfríður Ósk Samúelsdóttir

Lyrics: Hólmfríður Ósk Samúelsdóttir

3. Aron Brink – “Hypnotized

Composers: Michael James Down, Þórunn Erna Clausen and Aron Brink

Lyrics: William Taylor and Þórunn Erna Clausen

4. Hildur – “Bammbaramm

Composer: Hildur Kristín Stefánsdóttir

Lyrics: Hildur Kristín Stefánsdóttir

5. Rúnar Eff – “Making your way back home

Composer: Rúnar Eff Rúnarsson

Lyrics: Rúnar Eff Rúnarsson

6. Svala Björgvins – “Paper

Composers: Svala Björgvinsdóttir, Einar Egilsson, Lester Mendez and Lily Elise

Lyrics: Svala Björgvinsdóttir and Lily Elise

7. Daði Freyr – “Is this love?

Composer: Daði Freyr Pétursson

Lyrics: Daði Freyr Pétursson

“My mic wasn’t even on” — Hildur issues formal complaint over botched sound at Söngvakeppni 2017

The running order — crafted to create the most interesting show as possible — mixes genre well. The show starts with some energetic pop and ends with an 80’s retro vibe. In between we find ballads neatly tucked in among the electro, tropicana-pop and J-pop. You really could say there is something for everyone. (Including that chick on the beach who has had way too many pina coladas and is cat-calling at passersby).

Of those who made it to the final Aron Hannes and Svala were our readers favourites’ in the semi-finals, but Svala took the most votes in our two polls. Svala also made an impact on our Wiwi Jury, getting the best overall score and sitting comfortably 1.22 points higher than the song in second place.

Now the big question is what song will come out on top with the Icelandic public.


When and how to watch?

The final of Söngvakeppnin 2017 starts at 20:45 CET. You can watch it through RÚV’s website. Just press the “Í beinni” text in the upper right corner and you are good to go.

What act are you most excited for? Who will win this years Söngvakeppnin? Tell us in the comments below or cast your vote in our reader’s poll.

Read more Iceland Eurovision news