Bulgaria: BNT reveals clues for three more songs in internal selection


Yesterday Bulgaria‘s broadcaster BNT give clues for four of the 13 songs vying to be chosen in the country’s internal selection process. This morning the broadcaster has dropped clues for three more songs.

Things got started on Saturday when the broadcaster shared some information about the entries received in its 2018 song submission process. Of the 202 songs entered, there were 13 viable projects — and those 13 are now going to be screened by focus groups.

So far the broadcaster has only revealed the titles of the 13 songs. The associated artists are still top secret.

But BNT has slowly revealed short descriptions of each song. Yesterday fans learned about “Colours” (very modern), “Bad News” (Broadway style), “Bones” (very spiritual) and “Sky Symphony” (slight Eurasian flavour). Today it’s time for three more.

First revealed is “Two Hearts Collide”. It’s described as having “contradiction feelings”, is performed at a “mid tempo” pace, is “commercial reggae”, has a “strong chorus” and is “contemporary.

Next was the dramatically titled “Cold as Ice”. Its keywords were very simple. The song is performed by a “duo”, it involves a “key change”, it’s “up tempo” and “Eurovisionish”. As much as this might sound like the perfect entry, these classic “Eurovision song” elements have fallen out of favour in the song contest in recent years and are not a guarantee of a successful entry.

Finally today, fans were introduced to “Collide” — the second song on the list that involves a collision! Like a few other songs, it’s described as “radio-friendly”. It’s also “mid-tempo” and feels “very current”, “edgy” and is “RnB inspired”.

The 13 songs in Bulgaria’s internal selection

Song titles in bold are the ones with clues revealed.

  • “A New Home”
  • “Bad News”
  • “Bones”
  • “Choosing”
  • “Cold as Ice”
  • “Collide”
  • “Colours”
  • “Love Never Lies”
  • “Lovers to Enemies”
  • “Rebirth”
  • “Sky Symphony”
  • “Two Hearts Collide”
  • “You Will be the Change”

The BNT team will reveal the descriptions of the remaining six songs over the coming days.

The Bulgarian broadcaster has one month to pick their entry for Lisbon. The 13 projects will be assessed by various focus groups. The broadcaster aims to not just find the best song in demo form but to find the best entry for Eurovision 2018.

The act will be selected by 31 January, but it won’t be revealed to the public until 12 March. In the six weeks between selection and announcement, the song will be given a post-production polish. Afterall, with two top-five finishes in the last two years, Bulgaria has a track record to uphold.

What do you think of the descriptions of “Two Hearts Collide”, “Cold As Ice” and “Collide”? Who would you like to see represent Bulgaria in Lisbon? Share your thoughts below!