jesc 2014 junior eurovision contestants logo wiwibloggs

Junior Eurovision 2014 previews and reviews

Sixteen acts will compete at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2014 in Malta, but there can only be one winner. To help you make an informed decision about where to cast your vote, the Wiwi Jury—our in-house panel of music un-professionals—will preview and review each of this year’s acts. We’re ready to pick our JESC favourites!

Our jury for this edition consists of 13 jurors who hail from Albania, Austria, Australia, Britain, Croatia, Finland, Georgia, the Netherlands, Romania, and the United States. We are truly international, y’all! Each juror assesses each song independently, and then awards each song a score from 0 to 10. Before calculating the Wiwi Jury verdict, we drop the highest and lowest scores to reduce potential bias and outliers.

We’ll be unrolling these one by one over the coming weeks. You can read the completed reviews by clicking on the song title. If we have not yet reviewed a song, you can preview it by clicking on the song title in the second section below. You can also vote in our Junior Eurovision 2014 poll by clicking here.

 Junior Eurovision 2014: Reviews and rankings

1. Cyprus: Sophia Patsalides – I Pio Omorfi Mera (9.45)

2. Slovenia: Ula Lozar – Nisi Sam (8.91) **

3. Belarus: Nadezdha Misyakova – Sokal (8.91) **

4. Bulgaria: Krisia, Hasan and Ibrahim – Planet of the Children (8.58)

5. The Netherlands: Julia van Bergen – Around (8.23)

6. Russia: Alisa Kozhikina – Dreamer (7.86)

7. Sweden: Julia Kedhammar – Du Ar Inte Ensam (7.64)

8. Georgia: Lizi Pop – Happy Day (7.5)

9. Ukraine:  Sympho – Nick – Spring will Come (6.95)

10. Armenia: Betty with “People of the Sun” (6.91)

11. Serbia: Emilija Djonin – Svet U Mojim Ocima (6.72)

12. Malta: Federica Falzon – Diamonds (6.68)

13. Italy: Vincenzo Cantiello – Tuo Primo Grande Amore (6.54)

14. San Marino: The Peppermints – Breaking My Heart (6.45)

15. Croatia: Josie – Game Over (5.27)

16. Montenegro: Lejla Vulic & Masa Vujadinovic – Budi Dijete Na Jedan Dan (5.09)

** Slovenia and Belarus finished with identical averages of 8.91 when we dropped the lowest and highest scores, leaving us with 11 ratings. To break the tie we took the average from all 13 jurors. Slovenia won with an average of 8.88 to Belarus’ 8.77.

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
40 Comments
Newest
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Capitano08!
Capitano08!
3 years ago

Cyprus! She reminds me so much of Ivi Adamou, in a very good way!

kate
kate
5 years ago

Krisia,Hasan,Ibrahim -The Planet of the children. Very beautiful song.Number one

Miroslava
Miroslava
5 years ago

Bulgaria Krisia number 1

Iliyana Kaminska
Iliyana Kaminska
5 years ago

Krisia and Ibrahim & Hasan the best ! Bulgaria N=1 ….!!!

Laura
Laura
5 years ago

Malta =)

Adrian Adrianov
Adrian Adrianov
5 years ago

1- Bulgarien (10/10)
2- Slowenien (9/10)
3- Russland (8/10)
4- Belarus (710)
5- Serbien (6/10)
6- Schweden ( 5/10)
7- Zypern (4/10)
8- San Marino (3/10)
9- Georgia (2/10)
10- Niederlande (1/10)

Thiefo
5 years ago

As with all lists of this type, it all boils down to personal taste, so we’re always bound to disagree on a few spots. I personally disagree with most of it actually haha 😛 I have Malta, Russia, Ukraine and Armenia higher on my own list … but at least we can agree on Cyprus! Sophia is also my #1 this year, so go Cyprus!

Wladyslaw Kaminski
Wladyslaw Kaminski
5 years ago

Krisia and Hasan & Ibrahim nomber ! Your ist super !!!

Iliyana kaminska
Iliyana kaminska
5 years ago

The best ! Super ! Nise ! Kiss,kiss,kiss for Krisia and Nasan & Ibrahim ! Nomber – 1 !!! Bravo !

Wladyslaw Kaminski
Wladyslaw Kaminski
5 years ago

Bardzo dobre ! Oni sa nesamowiti ! Numer 1 !

Iliyana kaminska
Iliyana kaminska
5 years ago

The Best ! Super ! Nise ! Kiss,kiss,kiss for Krisia and Hasan & Ibrahim !!! Bravo !

Valentina
Valentina
5 years ago

Krisia <3 <3 <3

ESC 4ever
ESC 4ever
5 years ago

Cyprus!!

ESC 4ever
ESC 4ever
5 years ago

Top 16: 1-Cyprus (forever and ever my favorite of this jesc edition) 10/10 2-Slovenia (“Nisi sam” i love that song) 9.5/10 3-Te Netherlands (One of the best this year) 9/10 4-Belarus (Also good song this year well done) 9/10 5-Sweden (My guilty song i hope this is the first song from Sweden that can win) 9/10 6-Georgia (Its growing up for me slowley but i love her voice) 8.5/10 7-Italy (The only boy in this competion that sings good luck) 8/10 8-Bulgaria (Sorry but i dont know i hate that song but i love her voice) 7/10 9-Russia (Boring GAIA… Read more »

trinitty
trinitty
5 years ago

Krisia, charismatic girl, good luck! You are the best of the best!

PP
PP
5 years ago

And Italy and Serbia very underrated on list.

PP
PP
5 years ago

For me on Junior Eurovision 2014: Reviews and rankings 2 countries are very overrated The Netherlands with (8.23) and Sweden (7.64)

Sam
Sam
5 years ago

Malta is the winner

Daniel
Daniel
5 years ago

@Cinnamon Oh OK. Thankyou! And sorry, I meant to say I’m not saying this sarcastically…

ilcanta
ilcanta
5 years ago

Malta

Error
Error
5 years ago

Malta!

Patricia
Patricia
5 years ago

Bulgaria- the winner!

ilcanta
ilcanta
5 years ago

Malta MAlta Malta

debri
debri
5 years ago

Malta will win again!

KREMENA
5 years ago

KRISIQ BG

KREMENA
5 years ago

KRISIQ BG

Helena's fan
5 years ago

1. Cyprus
2. Sweden
3. Belarus
4. Netherlands
5. Malta
6. Russia
7. San Marino
8. Serbia
9. Georgia
10. Slovenia
11. Bulgaria (I hope)
12. Croatia
13. Montenegro
14. Ukraine
15. Armenia
16. Italy

Ricardo
Ricardo
5 years ago

Bulgaria!

Leonardo
Leonardo
5 years ago

1. Georgia
2. Ukraine
3. Sweden

GB
GB
5 years ago

BULGARIA-Krisia

Cinnamon
Cinnamon
5 years ago

@Daniel Yes however they aren’t singing they’re just playing pianos 🙂

KV
KV
5 years ago

1. Montenegro (only one kids song)
2. Netherlands
3. Georgia

julia markova
julia markova
5 years ago

Krisia ,Hasan end Ibrahim

???? ???????
???? ???????
5 years ago

Krisia ,Hasan and Ibrahim-Planet of the children.

Macanudo
Macanudo
5 years ago

Malta for the win! exceptional song and amazing voice! how do they do it ?! 🙂

Daniel
Daniel
5 years ago

@Cinnamon well yes but aren’t Ibrahim and Hasan male? I’m saying this sarcastically, I am actually asking.

Anyway I LOVE all the songs this year (except Montenegro and Italy)

Cinnamon
Cinnamon
5 years ago

They’re all girls except for Vincenzo

D
D
5 years ago

Over all average for the year: 7.5/10

D
D
5 years ago

Final Top 16 with Scores:
1- Slovenia (10/10)
2- Bulgaria (10/10)
3- Russia (10/10)
4- Belarus (10/10)
5- Serbia (10/10)
6- Sweden (9/10)
7- Cyprus (9/10)
8- San Marino (8/10)
9- Georgia (8/10)
10- Netherlands (7/10)
11- Armenia (6.5/10)
12- Croatia (6/10)
13- Malta (5/10)
14- Ukraine (5/10)
15- Montenegro (4/10)
16- Italy (3/10)