Unser Lied für Lissabon: NDR shares song titles ahead of 20 February reveal


In January Germany’s NDR held a three-day songwriting camp to kickstart the songwriting process for Unser Lied für Lissabon — its Eurovision 2018 selection.

And today the broadcaster revealed that the songs for the six finalists have now been selected, revealing their titles on the Eurovision.de web site.

You won’t be able to hear the actual songs until 20 February — just ahead of the 22 February selection show.

Fourteen songwriters were invited to the camp — and a three of the songs written there have made it to the German final.

There are some names familiar to Eurovision fans in the writing credits. Axel Ehnström is a Finnish songwriter, better known in Eurovision circles as Paradise Oskar. He represented his country at Eurovision 2011 with “Da Da Dam”, but has since established himself as a successful European songwriter.

Thomas Stengaard is a Danish songwriter with a Eurovision win to his name. He was one of the co-writers behind Emmelie de Forest’s “Only Teardrops” in 2013. He has also written for a number of high-profile German acts.

Swiss songwriter Ricardo “Richy” Bettiol, Canadian songwriter Martin Gallop, Dutch songwriter Loren Nine Geerts and German songwriters  Nisse IngwersenNina MüllerJaro Omar and Joe Walter also have credits on the songs.

Unser Lied für Lissabon: Song titles

Xavier Darcy — “Jonah”

Music and lyrics: Xavier Darcy, Loren Nine Geerts, Axel Ehnström, Thomas Stengaard

Singer-songwriter Xavier Darcy might be from Munich but he has French and British ancestry. Earlier this year he released his debut self-titled album Darcy. The album made it to the German iTunes top 50 chart. Darcy has toured extensively, including many appearances at festivals, and has made an appearance on the popular late night show Inas Nacht.

Ivy Quainoo — “House On Fire”

Music and lyrics: Jörgen Elofsson und Ali Tamposi

Ivy Quainoo is one of the best-known artists in the selection. She made a name as the winner of the very first season The Voice of Germany. Back in 2012, she won the show by a landslide and five years later you can still hear some of her songs on German radio stations. Ivy was born and raised in Berlin and her parents are Ghanaian. She currently lives in New York, but for the last few months, she was touring Germany. Her song title suggests she’s ready to make a big impact and burn the house down.

Ryk — “You and I”

Music and lyrics: Rick Jurthe

Upcoming singer-songwriter Rick Jurthe performs under the name Ryk and previously performed as FOXOS. The newcomer may be familiar as one of the many artists who entered into San Marino’s 1 In 360 contest. There his talents weren’t overlooked — he was one of the 69 acts shortlisted for the fan club vote. He didn’t make the cut of San Marino’s ten finalists, but, one could argue, performing in Unser Lied für Lissabon will surely give his German career a bigger boost than the San Marino national final would.

Michael Schulte: “You Let Me Walk Alone”

Music and lyrics: Michael Schulte, Thomas Stengaard, Nisse Ingwersen, Nina Müller

Michael Schulte was also a contestant on the first series of The Voice of Germany. He made it to the grand final, and while Ivy Quinoo won the series, he placed a very respectable third. In the grand final, he performed a duet with the then-upcoming UK singer-songwriter Ed Sheeran. Since his time on The Voice, Michael has released a number of singles in a folk-pop style and has built up a substantial YouTube following.

Natia Todua: “My Own Way”

Music and lyrics: Loren Nine Geerts, Ricardo Bettiol, Martin Gallop, Jaro Omar

Natia Todua is the most recent winner of The Voice of Germany, winning the seventh series. The Georgian-born singer had previously tried her luck on The X Factor Georgia and The Voice Ukraine — without much luck. Her fortuned changed when he entered The Voice of Germany, after working in Germany for a year as an au pair. The soul singer with a big voice has built up a fanbase in Germany, but fans have pointed out that being a Voice of Germany winner was no benefit to 2015 winner Jamie-Lee Kriewitz who placed last at Eurovision 2016.

voXXclub — “I mog Di so”

Music: Merty Bert, Mike Busse, Philipp Klemz, Lennard Oestmann
Lyrics: Joe Walter, Philipp Klemz, Martin Simma, Merty Bert, Mike Busse

voXXclub bring something different — singing and yodelling in Bavarian! Known for combining their endearing attitude with a modern yet traditional folk music sound, their fanbase is huge. VoXXclub’s song “Rock mi” even counts more than 19 million YouTube views. These five guys are more than ready for Eurovision and were often considered by German fans in the past.

Read more Germany Eurovision news