Eurovision 2014: Previews and reviews by the Wiwi Jury

Eurovision 2014: Previews and reviews by the Wiwi Jury

Thirty-seven acts will compete at the Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen, but there can only be one winner. To help you make an informed decision about where to cast your vote, the Wiwi Jury—our in-house panel of music un-professionals—will preview and review each of this year’s acts. It’s hard work, but we’ve got our painkillers and our notepads, and are ready to pick our Eurovision favourites.

Our jury consists of 19 jurors who hail from Albania, Austria, Australia, Britain, Croatia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway, Romania, and the United States. We are truly international, y’all! Each juror assesses each song independently, and then awards each song a score from 0 to 10. The highest and lowest scores are then dropped to determine the Wiwi Jury Verdict.

We’ll be unrolling these one by one over the coming weeks. You can read the completed reviews by clicking on the song title. If we have not yet reviewed a song, you can preview it by clicking on the song title in the second section below.

Eurovision 2014 reviews and rankings

  1. Hungary: András Kállay-Saunders with “Running” (8.56)
  2. Sweden: Sanna Nielsen with “Undo” (8.35)
  3. Ireland: Can-linn feat Kasey Smith with “Heartbeat” (8.06) ** (9 vs. 7 vs. 3 )
  4. Romania: Paula Seling & Ovi with “Miracle”(8.06)
  5. Armenia: Aram Mp3 with “Not Alone” (8.05)
  6. United Kingdom: Molly Smitten-Downes with “Children of the Universe” (8.03)
  7. Spain: Ruth Lorenzo with “Dancing in the Rain” (7.86)
  8. Norway: Carl Espen with “Silent Storm” (7.72)
  9. Israel: Mei Finegold with “Same Heart” (7.66)
  10. Ukraine: Maria Yaremchuk with “Tick-Tock” (7.59)
  11. Italy: Emma Marrone with “La Mia Citta” (7.51)
  12. France: Twin Twin with “Moustache” (7.48)
  13. Austria: Conchita Wurst with “Rise like a Phoenix” (7.31)
  14. San Marino: Valentina Monetta with “Maybe” (6.86)
  15. Azerbaijan: Dilara with “Start a Fire” (6.76)
  16. Greece: Freaky Fortune feat. Riskykidd with “Rise Up” (6.62)
  17.  FYR Macedonia: Tijana Dapcevic with “To the Sky” (6.5)
  18. Estonia: Tanja with “Amazing” (6.45)
  19. Denmark: Basim with “Cliché Love Song” (6.36)
  20. Moldova: Cristina Scarlat with “Wild Soul” (6.35)
  21. Montenegro: Sergej Cetkovic with “Moj svijet” (My World) (6.25)
  22. Slovenia: Tinkara Kovach with “Spet/Round and Round” (6.21)
  23. Finland: Softengine with “Something Better” (6.19)
  24. Germany: Elaiza with “Is it Right” (5.56)
  25. Albania: Hersiana Matmuja with “One Night’s Anger” (5.46)
  26. Poland: Cleo & Donatan with “We Are Slavs” (5.45)
  27. Belgium: Axel Hirsoux with “Mother” (5.15)
  28. Switzerland: Sebalter with “Hunter of Stars” (5.12)
  29. Portugal: Suzy with “Quero Ser Tua” (4.8)
  30. Netherlands: The Common Linnets with “Calm After the Storm” (4.44)
  31. Russia: The Tolmachevy Twins with “Shine” (4.43)
  32. Malta: Firelight with “Coming Home” (4.02)
  33. Belarus: Teo with “Cheesecake” (3.6)
  34. Latvia: Aarzemnieki with ‘Cake To Bake‘ (3.03)
  35. Lithuania: Vilija Mataciunaite with “Attention” (2.91)
  36. Iceland: Pollapönk with “No prejudice” (2.85)
  37. Georgia: The Shin with “Three Minutes to Earth” (1.79)

** Ties are broken by preferential vote. For instance, although the averages are the same for Ireland and Romania, nine jurors rated Ireland higher, seven rated Romania higher, and three scored them evenly. Ireland wins the tiebreak.

Related Links

You can keep up-to-date on the latest Eurovision news and gossip by following the team on Twitter @wiwibloggs and by liking our Facebook page.

Subscribe to wiwimail

62 Comments

  1. LEAPerce
    August 20, 2014 @ 4:48 pm

    Natasha…although he represented Greece, Riskykidd IS English, born and riased in London. How can you say his English is bad when he’s from England? Also think Sanna did an amazing job with her English. I think Lithuanian songs always use horrific English and need to stick to their own lanugage, using the last 2 years songs, 2013 with mentions of named shoes causing him pain *?!?!* and this year saying “chatting to my girls at bar, we all pretty” OH THE GRAMMAR.

  2. Vlatko Horvat
    July 3, 2014 @ 6:07 pm

    1: The Netherlands
    2: Austria
    3: Slovenia
    4: Spain
    5: Montenegro
    6: Malta
    7: Ukraine
    8: Russia
    9: Switzerland
    10: Hungary

  3. Argishti
    May 17, 2014 @ 7:28 pm

    Top my 36
    1 PORTUGAL
    2 IRELAND
    3 POLAND
    4 IZRAEL
    5 ESTONIA
    6 SPAIN
    7 SLOVENIA
    8 UKRAINE
    9 ARMENIA
    10 ITALY
    11 AUSTRIA
    12 AZERBAIJAN
    13 MONTENEGRO
    14 SWEDEN

    15 FYR MACEDONIA
    16 NORWAY
    17 HUNGARY
    18 DENMARK
    19 SAN MARINO
    20 UK
    21 LITVINIA
    22 GREECE
    23 GERMANY
    24 BELARUS
    25 MALTA
    26 ISLAND
    27 THE NIDERLAND
    28 RUSSA
    29 MOLDOVA
    30 ALBENIA
    31 FRANCE
    32 GEORGIA
    33 FINLAND
    34 LATVIA
    35 SWIZERLAND
    36 BELGIUM

  4. Brndn
    May 15, 2014 @ 2:30 am

    You guys must feel pretty dumb now for giving the Dutch entry such an undeservedly low score!!

  5. Ana
    May 13, 2014 @ 8:14 am

    Paula and Ovi, you were the best!
    Paula, I bet Conchita could not have hit the incredibly notes you reached. For me, you are the best! she just won because mostly because of the publicity she got and of course… because Eurovision is not about judging music quality anymore, but politics and geopolits, sadly for all of us…

  6. Avo Faria
    May 12, 2014 @ 4:52 am

    best of eurovosion 2014: San Marino, Armenia, Sweden, Spain
    weak songs of eurovosion 2014: Netherlands, France, Britain, Hungary

    I HATE conchita wurst

  7. Tundra
    May 9, 2014 @ 9:33 pm

    Finland is the winner this year, fresh young music. No nonsense, just a great catchy rock song with a great story to tell, too! All the others are far too pushy or complicated, or from hit factories and soulless. Georgia and …the cake song, was it Latvia? Should be in the final, they are good. But Finland’s Softengine is really something better !!!

  8. tweentyonedrum
    May 9, 2014 @ 3:44 pm

    POLAND!

  9. Out-of-Madrid
    May 9, 2014 @ 3:31 pm

    there is only one contestant: Conchita Wurst! so far above all the others. at least here in the gay community in Spain, there is absolutely furor over her…divine, elegant, amazing song, so theatrical, totally unforgettable image.. ¡go AUSTRIA!

  10. Natasha
    May 9, 2014 @ 7:32 am

    My top 5:
    1. Montenegro- love the balkan beat and that it stuck to its national language! Samo napred Crno Goro!
    2. Armenia- was able to understand his english unlike MANY eurovision entries but sounded too similar to every edm song out there
    3. Sweden- her voice was good and had a nice average ballad except it was hard to understand her english in some parts
    4. Netherlands- very nice voices and beat although sounded like they copied some american indie band
    5. Greece- love the beat! English was poor at parts but was one of the few upbeat songs in euro and I enjoyed it

    Note to future eurovision contestants: sing in your national language so the songs are understood by the audience and so we can avoid the cheesy lyrics!

    We are in modern times its true but people think that every song has to be sung in english but its better to keep traditions alive and convey the beauty of each of our countries in our own wonderfully unique language!

    Drago mi je da Crna Gora ima vaku predivno pjesmu i nadam se da mozemo pobjediti da svi vide kakve predivne pjesma mi imamo u balkanu, mnogo te volimo u americi… vasa srbijanka u cikagu xxxx

    sincerely, eurovision’s most obsessed american xxxx

  11. Alexander
    May 8, 2014 @ 7:12 pm

    My favorites… Montenegro, Hungary and Macedonia <3 <3 <3

  12. pipi
    May 8, 2014 @ 12:58 pm

    1. UK
    2. Austria
    3. San Marino
    4. Denmark
    5. Italy

  13. Sharon
    May 8, 2014 @ 9:31 am

    Armenia was so out of tune! He don’t deserve to win the contest he is way overated! The Netherlands is the Best!

  14. ZORRO21
    May 7, 2014 @ 10:11 pm

    1. Greece 2. Britain 3. Sweden

  15. Luis
    May 7, 2014 @ 7:56 pm

    it is certainly not correct, choose the winner in 2014 convenient for the contest in 2015. In my opinion, a long time, the winner must choose only voting viewers, they main listeners will then win favorite song throughout Europe. then the policy of friendship and neighboring countries will go by the wayside and all will be honest. disgrace is that the participants of the first semifinal contest do not vote, and vote necessary for participants in the second semifinal. and there may be no one like me? do not properly account for songs ….. 2014 ….. Sweden Sanna – the song is very old-fashioned, plain, does not stand out from those that we hear every day in life. Armenia Aram mp3 not alone – a great song, music, new style, a new spirit, a beautiful clip, discovery of the year! my choice ARAM MP3!

  16. Angela
    May 7, 2014 @ 10:24 am

    The Netherlands! I love the Dutch entry. Real quality.
    I can listen it all day.

    Sweden was also nice, beautiful voice and great light effects!

  17. ENygma
    May 7, 2014 @ 2:39 am

    Switzerland must pass the semi, he is brilliant!!!
    You put Russia, Iceland and Netherlands even lower and they passed, so that gives me hope 🙂

  18. redarrow
    May 7, 2014 @ 12:59 am

    malta number one best there is 12 points to MALTA ..

  19. sillu
    May 6, 2014 @ 8:43 pm

    ESTONIA WILL BE A WINNER!! Best song ive ever heard

  20. sillu
    May 6, 2014 @ 8:41 pm

    ESTONIA WILL BE A WINNER!! Best song i’ve ever heard!

  21. Emma
    May 6, 2014 @ 2:24 pm

    Go Finland! I think that Finland has great song and the boys are really cute <3!! Helsinki 2015!

    Finland is gonna be dark horse this year. Remember who said this first.

  22. Anne
    May 6, 2014 @ 2:04 pm

    The Netherlands!!! Folks back to the basics…..let’s vote for music!

  23. Christiaan
    May 6, 2014 @ 10:17 am

    My top 5:

    1. Sweden
    2. Hungary
    3. Portugal
    4. United Kingdom
    5. Spain

  24. Davdubai
    May 6, 2014 @ 6:27 am

    1 Armenia

    2 ————
    3 France
    4 Greece
    5 Israel

  25. Dorinda
    May 5, 2014 @ 11:06 pm

    Hungary! 🙂
    Kállay Saunders András <3

  26. Deven O'Kearney
    May 5, 2014 @ 8:20 pm

    Hi Cathal

    Ireland has the best voting strength in the semi final? Really….. I never knew. That made my day. 🙂 Thanks

    What 5 countries does Ireland have to beat? 😀

  27. Cathal
    May 5, 2014 @ 10:06 am

    DeeDee, that’s because this is like Eric saade in 2014, loads of people said he wouldn’t qualify based on rehersals, and then he won the semi and came 3rd in the final, realistically ireland only have to beat 5 songs, and Ireland have the best voting strength in the semi and have a hot singer which will bring in more votes, you do the math…

  28. karinA
    May 4, 2014 @ 1:51 am

    Miracle from rumania in top 5!!!

  29. Dan RO
    May 3, 2014 @ 7:55 pm

    * ‘aonga’ really means ‘songs’ :))

  30. Dan RO
    May 3, 2014 @ 7:53 pm

    OK, now that the wiwi jury has its say, I went over all the aonga again and here is my top 10:

    1. SPAIN (no brainer – anyone who stumbled upon my comments would have known that by now). It probably won’t win, but ‘Dancing in the Rain’ should give Spain its best placing in a very long time!

    2. The Netherlands – the most underrated song this year. Obviously it won’t get this placing in the final; from what I’ve seen, it’s still debatable whether they will get there at all, but I surely hope so!!!

    3. Sweden – out of all the ‘official’ favourites, this is the one I love the most.

    4. Hungary – a country with fluctuating (at best) results at ESC until now, but no doubt 2014 is its year! I wouldn’t even mind if they win – that way I may actually go to my first ESC, given the geographical proximity :).

    5. Italy – very consistent since their return, and this is my favourite Italian entry since. And Rome is my favourite city in the world, I’ve been there 7 times already, so go Italy!

    6. France – I’ve never had a moustache, nor do I want one, but this song is not to be taken literally. It’s fun fun fun!!! Les pauvres, the French haven’t had a decent result (with the exception of Patricia Kaas) in ages, so maybe this year?

    7. Israel – I decided long ago to forgive Mei for the non-sense of the lyrics and just enjoy the song. It hasn’t started as one of my favourites, but here it is…

    8. Greece – I haven’t really rooted for any Greek entry since ‘My Number One’ , despite their continuous succes, but this one is quite different, in a very good way.

    9. Switzerland – I know this is hardly a favourite, but I really enjoy it!

    10. Romania – well, this is totally biased, so sue me! Secretly, I kind of hope it ends up in the top 10…

  31. Robert
    May 3, 2014 @ 4:33 pm

    Go Armenia! Go Aram Mp3

  32. Deven O'Kearney
    May 3, 2014 @ 11:29 am

    Aram MP3 is my favourite this year, I have told some of my friends in school to vote for him if he gets to the final. However, the vocals and stage show REALLY let this guy down. He is really going to have to work hard and fix where he went wrong or he is in some serious trouble in the semi final. He may struggle to get out of the semi final.

  33. Allen
    May 3, 2014 @ 8:02 am

    Top 15

    1 France
    2 Georgia
    3 Latvia
    4 Lithuania
    5 Ukraine
    6 Iceland
    7 Belarus
    8 San Marino
    9 Slovenia
    10 Belgium

    11 Malta
    12 Russia
    13 Albania
    14 Moldova
    15 Estonia

  34. Robert Germone
    May 2, 2014 @ 10:24 pm

    I think Ukraine will get place in top-3

  35. SpirK
    May 2, 2014 @ 9:56 pm

    Wow, you’ve left the big 3 favorites for last! I don’t think that was by chance! Armenia, Sweden and the UK are dominating the polls. Really looking forward to seeing United Kingdom’s rating. It’s my second favorite this year. For number 1, just think that I am wishing ”third time lucky” for one of the contestants!

  36. mariya yaremchuk
    May 2, 2014 @ 8:31 pm

    eurovision song contest 2015 ukraine kiev

  37. Deven O'Kearney
    May 2, 2014 @ 8:03 pm

    Oh sorry, I have Finland down twice, Belarus will barely make it. (As will Finland, based on rehearsals).

  38. Deven O'Kearney
    May 2, 2014 @ 8:01 pm

    I THINK THIS IS HOW IT WILL BE (In random order):

    Switzerland
    Norway
    Finland
    Israel (Possible semi winner)
    Austria (Possible semi winner)
    Ireland (Possible semi winner)
    Romania (Possible semi winner)
    Finland (Barely making it)
    Greece
    Malta (Just Barely making it)

    Tell me who you think should qualify. 😀

  39. INFE
    May 2, 2014 @ 7:13 pm

    POLAND is the black horse on this stage. You will see that POLAND will be in TOP 5

    For me can win. Song from Poland is diferent. Song is Original, is rytmic, has perfect wbackgraund. CLEO has very good vocal

    I hop that POLAND will be very high

  40. DeeDee
    May 2, 2014 @ 6:30 pm

    To be fair to David, I’ve seen a few bloggers in Copenhagen saying Ireland will be on the cusp of qualifying and they may not make it. Look at their Semi Final…

    Israel, Norway, Greece & Romania = Almost Certain Qualifiers.

    Poland, Austria, Finland, Ireland, Slovenia, Malta, Switzerland = All predict to qualify on different blogs.

    Don’t forget Lithuania, Belarus and Georgia – I’d be shocked if a former Soviet State didn’t slip into the final. Very few countries in SF2 are safe. Lithuania has a VERY friendly draw, they will receive a big televote from Ireland, Poland and the UK (Probably 10 or 12 from all 3) as well as friendly votes from Georgia and Belarus. Watch for them.

  41. DeeDee
    May 2, 2014 @ 6:18 pm

    The only one near the top I can’t see doing well is Ireland. The vocals are not good enough. The reports from rehearsals imply Kasey has been off all week and the staging is messy.

  42. Karl
    May 2, 2014 @ 10:44 am

    UK! UK! UK! Molly! Molly! Molly!
    I have a feeling the British NEED to win this year

    Although I won’t be surprised if either Armenia, Azerbaijan or Ireland would win this year. And if they do I think they’ll deserve it *cough*butnotasmuchastheuk*cough*

  43. mateusz
    May 1, 2014 @ 5:08 pm

    My top 37

    1 Armenia

    2 Denmark
    3 France
    4 Greece
    5 Israel

    6 Sweden
    7 Azerbaijan
    8 Germany
    9 Ukraine
    10 Ireland

    11 Slovenia
    12 Poland
    13 Estonia
    14 United Kingdom
    15 Italy
    16 Norway
    17 Switzerland
    18 Montenegro
    19 San Marino
    20 Portugal
    21 Netherlands
    22 Hungary
    23 Spain
    24 Malta
    25 Finland
    26 Austria

    27 Romania
    28 Macedonia
    29 Albania
    30 Latvia
    31 Belarus
    32 Moldova
    33 Iceland
    34 Lithuania
    35 Georgia
    36 Belgium
    37 Russia

  44. adriana_gabriela
    May 1, 2014 @ 2:45 pm

    Looks like the most controversial songs are the last to be reviewed 🙂

  45. Caz
    May 1, 2014 @ 12:47 pm

    I think Spain are gunna win, Ireland 2nd then UK 3rd, Hungary and Ukraine songs are good but definitely not eurovision winner type songs! #TeamMolly

  46. Deven O'Kearney
    April 28, 2014 @ 10:25 pm

    Honestly, I think Ireland could actually have it’s best shot at winning since the 90’s. I really do. The song is amazing. It has very powerful lyrics and vocals and has a very strong message behind it. The singer Kasey Smith is an absolute fire cracker and most important, it has something for everyone. That element is VITAL for both the televoters and the juries alike. It is a fusion of traditional Irish and pop music that bizarrely works and works very well. The staging in Copenhagen will be amazing and I know the vocals will be flawless. To make matters even better, they are the hot favourites to win in at least 6 countries and are topping all of the polls here and on other websites. GOOD LUCK IRELAND!!!!!! I doubt they will need it however. 😀

  47. marklebron
    April 26, 2014 @ 9:14 pm

    You left all the controversial songs for the end. Perhaps Albania will be next.

  48. Skugga
    April 26, 2014 @ 1:29 pm

    SPAAAIN WINNER

  49. Deven O'Kearney
    April 25, 2014 @ 10:47 pm

    It is so hard to predict where each country is going to place this year to be honest with you. However, I fully expect at least one of these countries to win this year (IN NO ORDER):

    Ireland
    Romania
    United Kingdom
    Armenia
    Sweden
    Hungary
    Azerbaijan (just to be prepared)

    Tell me what you think. 😀 😀

  50. Deven O'Kearney
    April 25, 2014 @ 3:00 pm

    Hi David

    I don’t know what indicators you use but they are VERY wrong. For your information, Ireland will most likely be in the final this year. I say that because they are one of the bookies favourites to win the second semi final and they have a lot of friends in that semi final too.Apart from Dervish, the viewers like Ireland when they stick to traditional Irish ballads or contemporary pop songs like this. I definitely think that this song has something that the viewers and the juries will like.

    Keeping it simple, Ireland probably will qualify once again because it has a lot of voting allies in this semi final and because it will prove popular with the viewers and the juries. 😀

  51. mikateriyan
    April 25, 2014 @ 9:33 am

    david, why are you hating on the irish entry, stop trying to delude yourself

  52. Easpag
    April 24, 2014 @ 3:43 pm

    David, I’m sorry but you’re model is completely unreliable. Despite the fact it could merely be based on your favourites because you don’t tell anybody how it works, but you got the amount of qualifying spaces in Semi-Final 2 wrong. 10 countries qualify, not 9. This would mean Ireland do qualify.

    I’m sorry, but if you make such simple mistakes such as this, any model or predictions you make cannot be trusted. They’re unreliable.

  53. David
    April 24, 2014 @ 1:01 pm

    Really interesting reviews. I’m intrigued by how high Ireland have scored. I’ve built a model to predict the voting this year and it didn’t think that Ireland would make it out of the Semi-Final! http://eurovisionodds.tumblr.com/tagged/mypredictions

  54. Leon
    April 23, 2014 @ 5:40 pm

    Interesting video that’s well produced and an accomplished artist, with a nice song. Done in two languages will appeal to many. The lyrics are superficial if you bother to listen carefully or look them up. It should just qualify. 8/10

  55. Joseph
    April 23, 2014 @ 5:38 pm

    Go Ireland!!

  56. Deven O'Kearney
    April 20, 2014 @ 10:05 pm

    Ireland REALLY does want to win this year :D!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s about time that the Irish public sent the song and not the singer.

  57. LEAPerce
    April 19, 2014 @ 12:04 pm

    Wanna know when they are reviewing Armenia, Sweden, Norway and THE UK!

  58. Tom
    April 15, 2014 @ 1:37 am

    Win Sweden win!

  59. sopon
    April 13, 2014 @ 11:44 pm

    Do you guys go in any particular order as far as what songs are reviewed?

  60. Dene
    April 13, 2014 @ 7:34 pm

    Viva Malta

  61. Fan
    April 10, 2014 @ 7:49 pm

    Natália Kelly winner

  62. Zoran
    April 10, 2014 @ 11:57 am

    Go Montenegrooo!

Leave a Reply

*

Google+