Alternative Eurovision 2016: Semi-final 1 qualifiers

Last week we launched Alternative Eurovision, our search to determine the best other song by our beloved Eurovision 2016 artists. In semi-final one we offered you sexy beach babes, satanic rock anthems, egoistic electro-swing and a whole lot more. Nineteen acts competed, but only ten will make it to the grand finale – decided purely by your votes, cast from all over Europe, and beyond.

During the 72-hour voting period you guys cast a total of 3,809 votes. In order to preserve the integrity of the grand final voting, we aren’t revealing the breakdown of the votes just yet. Instead we are merely revealing the 10 qualifiers — and in random order. They are…

Hungary: Freddie “Mary Joe”

Austria: Zoë “Adieu”

Russia: Sergey Lazarev “7 Wonders”

Iceland: Greta Salóme “We Are”

Estonia: Jüri Pootsmann “I Remember U”

Malta: Ira Losco “Shoudn’t Have To Bother”

Czech Republic: Gabriela Gunciková “Cerny andel”

Croatia: Nina Kraljic “Zaljuljali Smo Svijet”

Netherlands: Douwe Bob “Can’t Slow Down”

Armenia: Iveta Mukuchyan “Summer Rain”

These ten countries will join France, Italy, Spain, and Sweden in the grand final. Unfortunately this means that we must say goodbye to eight countries – see how they fared in the voting below:

  1. Greece: Argo “Den mou kaneis” 4% (138 votes)
  2. San Marino: Serhat “Je M’adore” 4% (135 votes)
  3. Cyprus: Minus One “Shine” 3% (120 votes)
  4. Azerbaijan: Samra “O sevir” 3% (119 votes)
  5. Finland: Sandhja “Hold Me” 3% (112 votes)
  6. Moldova: Lidia Isac “I Can’t Breathe” 2% (93 votes)
  7. Bosnia & Herzegovina: Deen “Deset Miliona Ljubavi” 1% (47 votes)
  8. Montenegro: Highway “Sam” 1% (34 votes)

Stay tuned for semi-final 2, coming soon!

Vote in more Eurovision 2016 polls