The Melodifestivalen 2016 rumours continue, with more names leaking out. Swedish newspaper Aftonbladet says that adding to the 2016 roster will be 2011 Melfest star Pernilla Andersson, 2015 it-girl Isa, and 16-year-old Frans Jeppsson-Wall, best known in Sweden for his tribute song to Zlatan Ibrahimovic in 2006. But not only that – SVT are holding a place for Molly Pettersson Hammar. They really want her!

Pernilla Andersson

Pernilla has an accomplished music career, with eight albums to her credit. She competed at Mello 2011 with her self-written song “Desperados”. It made it as far as the Andra Chansen round where she lost to The Moniker.


At the age of 16, Isa was one of the break-out stars of Melfest 2015 with her sassy track “Don’t Stop”. She made it to the final where she placed seventh, with the international jury favouring her fun pop slightly more than the public vote.

Frans Jeppsson-Wall

Frans is best known in Sweden for his song “Who’s Da Man”, a tribute to Zlatan Ibrahimovic ahead of the 2006 FIFA World Cup, which he recorded aged seven. One decade on, the now teenage Frans will be making his Melfest debut. As his performance on this recent car ad shows, he’s ready for Melfest.

Molly Pettersson Hammar

SVT are trying to woo Molly Sandén to compete in Melfest 2016, but now it seems they also have another Molly in their sights. Molly Pettersson Hammar – who tragically missed out on the final with her amazing song “I’ll Be Fine” – will have a place held for her if she decides to make a return to Melfest. C’mon Molly – you’ll be fine!

The list grows

Svensktoppen Nästa winners the Smajling Swedes have a guaranteed place, and along with Pernilla, Frans and (maybe) Molly PH, those well-placed sources are also reckoning we’ll see Ace Wilder, Oscar Zia, Lisa AjaxSamir & ViktorDinah Nah, Panetoz, Sigrid Bernson, Pidde PannkakaLinda Bengtzing, Eclipse and (maybe) Molly Sandén. That’s 15 acts out of 28 total.

There’s also a list of acts who are rumoured to have applied but are yet to be confirmed by SVT: Ola Svensson (2008, 2010), Sean Banan (2012, 2013), Mariette Hansson (2015), Rickard Söderberg (2015), Anders Fernette (2011), David Lindgren (2012, 2013), Timoteij (2010, 2012), Hilda Stenmalm (Lilla MF 2008, MGP 2014), Simon Peyron (2013 – Outtrigger), Ammotrack (2014) and newcomers Badpojken, Mollie Lindén and Gabriel Alares.

Co-hosts revealed

Gina Dirawi Foto: Micke Grönberg/Sveriges Radio

As we reported earlier in the week, the host of Melodifestivalen 2016 is strongly rumoured to be Gina Dirawi, who’ll be joined by a series of guest co-hosts on each show. Two of the co-hosts are said to be Sarah Dawn Finer and young comedian William Spetz.

But the waiting will be over soon. SVT is announcing the full details of the Melfest hosts today (Tuesday) at 12.15 CET. There’s even a countdown clock. Check out the Melfest website to watch the announcement live.

Follow all of our Sweden Eurovision news here

1 Comment
Oldest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
8 years ago

Woooo! Keep the big names coming.